Whitbread Employee Reviews about "nice people"

Updated 10 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Whitbread Chief Executive Officer Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
160 Ratings
Pros
  • "good working environment, great people to work with(in 22 reviews)

  • "If you want to work with nice people in a known name it can give you that(in 20 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "nice people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Think twice"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Whitbread full-time

    Pros

    Some nice people. Good work-life balance. But outweighed by the negatives.

    Cons

    The revolving door of people is nothing new. The work is unfulfilling, technology is mostly outdated and slow progress is being made. Minds are fixed and you are very limited in what you can do in every sense. It takes a toll. Recruitment keep promoting it as an amazing place to work despite the feedback and leavers.

    Continue reading

    Whitbread Response

    November 13, 2019Digital Content Manager

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Working in the hospitality industry can be demanding, but we recognise it's important to get the right balance between challenging and impossible. In order to help us make real changes to our business, we’d really appreciate the chance to talk to you further about this – just drop us a line at glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com

  2. Helpful (7)

    "Less contractors and needs to be based together"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time

    Pros

    Many nice people and good facilities

    Cons

    The quality of people has always been patchy but the influx of contractors is a concern. Far too many uncommitted overpaid people and too many being made permanent. Whilst that may lock in some sort of commitment it is bringing in lower quality people into higher level positions which is causing real problems. It’s also known throughout the business that one area is very weak, very expensive, very relaxed in comparison to other parts of the business and is failing. Whilst it has a tumultuous time, back in the real world cost cuts are made and people are just about keeping their heads above water. It’s hard to understand how it is acceptable to have one rule for one area and another for everywhere else. That same area also seems to divorced from the rest of the business partly due to geography.

    Continue reading

    Whitbread Response

    November 13, 2019Digital Content Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as a company we are always looking to improve to give our people the best possible experience when growing their career with us. You've raised several points and I appreciate your honesty however, without critical information, we aren't able to offer comment or investigate further. Please email glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com and give us the best opportunity to use your insight to help us understand and implement any required changes to the way we work.

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Pointless"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Whitbread full-time

    Pros

    If you want to work with nice people in a known name it can give you that

    Cons

    Too many. Terrible work, the slowest code convergence, some bad systems you are stuck with, many people leaving

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Old tech, stale digital"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Whitbread full-time

    Pros

    Ok office, nice people, flexible working

    Cons

    Old tech, micromanagement culture, mostly junior agency workers and long time Whitbreads moved to digital to learn it, very stale

    Whitbread Response

    November 14, 2019Digital Content Manager

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are always looking to improve to give our people the best possible experience when growing their career with us. However, without critical information, we aren't able to offer comment or investigate further. Please email glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com and give us the best opportunity to use your insight to help us understand and implement any required changes to the way we work.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Career stagnation"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice people (most of them are leaving) and very good work-life balance. Flexible hours and good office location.

    Cons

    Very old, outdated technologies. Company not open for innovation, so many empty promises, most of the good people are leaving. Lack of communication between stakeholders and teams. If you want to learn and develop look somewhere else otherwise your career will get stagnated.

    Continue reading

    Whitbread Response

    November 13, 2019Digital Content Manager

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. In order to help us make real changes to our business, we’d really appreciate the chance to talk to you further about this – just drop us a line at glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com and give us the best opportunity to use your insight to help us understand and implement any required changes to the way we work.

  6. "Receptionist premier inn"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Front Desk Receptionist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Whitbread for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some nice people, gained insight into hospitality

    Cons

    Poor pay , salary not reflecting responsibilities. Unsociable shifts, poor work /home balance. As a receptionist earned the same as a housekeeper, although had far more responsibilities, and having to work long unsociable hours.

    Continue reading

    Whitbread Response

    November 13, 2019Digital Content Manager

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. In order to help us make real changes to our business, we’d really appreciate the chance to talk to you further about this – just drop us a line at glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com and help us strive for even more together.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Luton, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time

    Pros

    Nice people and staff discount

    Cons

    Too many politics. Some people have rapidly weaselled their way to the top by saying the right things to the right people but haven’t done anything so far beyond talk. Endless paperwork and updates. So many meetings. Everything is a program or project. It’s plain silly as is the number of people they have and the pot of gold available to spend.

    Continue reading

    Whitbread Response

    November 14, 2019Digital Content Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as a company we are always looking to improve to give our people the best possible experience when growing their career with us. We’ve thrived for 277 years by listening to our people and building the business around them, so your review is vital to helping us us understand and implement any required changes to the way we work. However, we'd get a lot more if you were willing to carry on the conversation with us. Please email glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Full of potential"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Digital in London, England

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, both in digital and the wider business. Great office location. Full of potential.

    Cons

    There are challenges to solve, but all are solvable. Some key ones: •Low morale is a big concern and known drivers will need support for solutions •Misconceptions about agile. Some process implementation but lacks full implementation and mindset / philosophy that are critical to unlock benefits which would be huge •Can be very siloed. Taking a simpler approach would unlock big efficiencies and bring people together. This is part of the agile philosophy. •Could benefit from a more progressive culture. Leans to bureaucracy and hierarchy at times as a safety net which slows everything down, disempowers and demotivates. Most big companies have moved away from this with everyone aligned around agreed goals to ensure company objectives are achieved. •Lacks goals, KPIs and continuous performance measurement. Minimal visibility of performance and no reporting can result in missing value-add. We want to always be adding material value. •Lack of visibility of business strategy. Understandable given lots of recent change, but this would really help

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Out of date"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time

    Pros

    A few nice people and that’s about it

    Cons

    •Outdated and inefficient old company that doesn’t know how to move with the times •Too much process and long meetings •Processes don’t work. No plans, milestones, dates •Dominated by program people which shows how old fashioned and inefficient it is •Too many directors and many lack relevant experience. Overall everything is slowed down •Culture of hierarchy •Lots of overlapping people •Lack of career progression and your face needs to fit with the right people

    Continue reading

    Whitbread Response

    November 14, 2019Digital Content Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review, appreciate your honesty. It would be great to carry on the conversation here - glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com - so we can use your feedback for even more and and give us the best opportunity to use your insight to help us understand and implement any required changes to the way we work.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "too much hierarchy and bureaucracy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time

    Pros

    •Nice people •Easy to get to

    Cons

    •Nothing to attract customers •Obsessed with big programmes and ignore everything else. It’s just an ego boost for people with their own project as they get a big budget, a big team of project people and a lot of focus •Too much hierarchy and bureaucracy •Lack of knowledge and experience at highest levels. People move from area to area with periodic reshuffling so you can end up suddenly having a boss with no previous experience in your field •We were better off with Costa •Facilities could be better

    Continue reading

    Whitbread Response

    November 14, 2019Digital Content Manager

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. In order to help us make real changes to our business, we’d really appreciate the chance to talk to you further about this – just drop us a line at glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com and help us strive for even more together.

Found 20 reviews