Yowza Animation Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Yowza Animation Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Yowza Animation CEO Heather Walker
Heather Walker
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "A bit harsh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yowza Animation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great work environment - Great projects - Small studio (comparatively to a couple of the other local studios), thus giving more of a family-like atmosphere - Great, very approachable boss, who cares about her staff's needs - Great co-workers

    Cons

    I cannot complain about... well... really anything here. I have read the 5 other reviews on here, and frankly, these reviews are harsh and completely unfair, to call a spade a spade. I have been at Yowza for close to a year now, and have seen the conditions every employee has to work under, and frankly, I think that Yowza treats each and every individual here with respect and dignity. Yes... This is... production, and there are crunch times. Yes, the client on the project in question is a tough client, which accounts for the occasional "stick in the spokes" in terms of deadlines. It happens! In terms of high expectations toward the work - A high level of quality is what Yowza has always been known for, and that will not change, as that is why clients want to work with Yowza. If you are someone is not delivering the adequate level of quality, then I fail to see why that is the fault of Yowza, and therefore a con for working for them. I personally think it is a "PRO" to working for them, as I don't want to work for someone who just produces for the sake of producing. I want to work for "the best". I have worked in a great many studios over the years, and frankly, Yowza Animation is among the best I have ever worked for - hands down. The reviews that I have read appear to come from people who feel a very strong sense of entitlement and frankly, have very little experience to speak of in this industry. Maybe I am wrong. Maybe you have been spoiled prior to being here, which is not always a good thing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't take the negative opinions expressed on here as the gospel. Haters are going to hate, and there are people who, no matter how happy they are, or how well things are going, are going to complain.

    Yowza Animation2017-01-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Decent company, could be better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yowza Animation

    Pros

    - Great projects - Good location - Effort put into maintaining an engaging work atmosphere - Effort put into making workplace a safe place

    Cons

    - Unrealistic deadlines - Lack of communication between departments - Cascading miscommunication - Lack of coherent pipeline, creates constant production bottlenecks at every level - Lack of vertical transparency - Open concept studio can get distracting

    Advice to Management

    Good company, could be better. Just like any animation studio has its problems and perks. There seems to be a discrepancy between management's expectations and outlook of the project vs. the actual experience of floor-level employees. Good communication is a place to start, and (more importantly) concrete steps taken based on that feedback.

    Yowza Animation2017-02-18
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Reality check"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yowza Animation full-time

    Pros

    Great looking show and decent location.

    Cons

    The reason I decided to write this review is the infuriating review bashing any criticism and denying that anything is wrong with the company. This was without a doubt written by the management / family and only illustrates their level of delusion. I have worked for many studios over the years and am no stranger to crunch-times, but when crunch-time becomes the norm then it's time for reflection. Considering a... crazy schedule, extreme stress, mandatory unpaid overtime and no time for social life "normal" is very, very, very sad and speaks volumes about the reviewer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    "A bad boss can take a good staff and destroy it, causing the best employees to flee and the remainder to lose all motivation." The high turnover among your senior staff should be a hint.

    Yowza Animation2017-02-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Focus on positive workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yowza Animation

    Pros

    Employer focused and supported, good benefits, amazing space, lots of social activities, screenings, fun environment to game, play pool, ping-pong and hang out. Work is hard, deadlines can be very demanding, like, you know, every animation studio on the planet.

    Cons

    Incompetent staff/management that takes advantage of leniency by management who give them too many chances to redeem themselves, needed to cut fired way sooner.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the atmosphere and one on one care. Clear toxic employees more quickly.

    Yowza Animation2016-11-09
  5. Helpful (9)

    "caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Yowza Animation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PROS - great looking show "Welcome To The Wayne" - good location - great first impression - some good co-workers

    Cons

    CONS - chaotic work environment - bad work/life balance - high employee turnover - extreme nepotism and favoritism

    Yowza Animation2016-10-02
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yowza Animation

    Pros

    Yowza has some cool projects with friendly and talented workmates. Nice location, next to a beautiful park. Also a very cool bike rack.

    Cons

    Stupidly disorganized.. Even for a new studio. Very chaotic work enviroment, with crazy hours and surprise deadlines. Missing an actual pipeline, communication is severly lacking. Expectations are ambigious and often conflicting.

    Advice to Management

    Please communicate deadlines and quotas clearly. I shouldn't have to hear on friday that there is a surprise crunch because the work week was mismanaged.

    Yowza Animation2016-09-15
  7. Helpful (14)

    "very disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yowza Animation full-time

    Pros

    Fun project and some friendly people.

    Cons

    I should had researched them better before taking the job. Yowza was a well known studio in the Toronto animation industry, but this is a different studio. The original Yowza that worked on the feature films supposedly dissolved a few years ago. Recently Heather Walker acquired the name and opened a new studio. Although the project I work on is a fun, the studio itself is hands down the most disorganized and poorly... managed place I have ever seen. Some departments are barely working while others are in constant crunch mode. It is stressful to say the least.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't put people with zero experience in management positions.

    Yowza Animation2016-08-16
Found 17 reviews