albelli Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

albelli Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
albelli CEO Tristan Money
Tristan Money
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "no real contra, but Dutch courses for the international employees would be nice(in 3 reviews)

  • "The open floor plan is nice but can be noisy sometimes(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - H R Business Partner in Paris
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at albelli full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects, empowerment, healthy people, fun

    Cons

    There a lot of improvements areas but there are identified and people are working on them

    albelli2020-02-18

    albelli Response

    March 5, 2020Response albelli

    Thanks for your review of albelli! We are happy to hear that you are involved in interesting projects and as mentioned, we are putting a lot of time & effort into areas we can improve. We hope you continue to have a positive experience with albelli.

    Continue reading
  2. "Challenging job / good peers/ bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at albelli full-time

    Pros

    Complex and interesting business A lot of intelligent peers Can learn a lot ICs can have some freedom Dynamic place to be

    Cons

    Management is made of warring cliques pulling in (dramatically) different directions Priorities change weekly, no real roadmap Never have time to look ahead of clean the stuff Promotion is opaque, doesn't seem to be merit-based

    Continue reading
    albelli2020-02-12

    albelli Response

    March 5, 2020Response albelli

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate hearing all feedback. We are happy to hear you find this to be an interesting and complex business and have colleagues you enjoy working with. It is unfortunate to hear that you feel our priorities are not aligned. This is something we work hard to do, to make sure we are all working towards the same goal, but we will take your feedback on board and look at how we can communicate this better. Communication is not always easy with multiple locations and countries, but we are working every day to improve in this area. If you have specific issues you would like to discuss further, please reach out to a member of the HR/recruitment team on the second floor and we can meet for a coffee.

    Continue reading
  3. "Company in decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at albelli full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The colleagues are fun to work with and have drink with.

    Cons

    Owned by private equity so ruled by the almighty profit margin, all the fun things that made albelli a good employer have disappeared over time.

    Continue reading
    albelli2020-02-12

    albelli Response

    March 5, 2020Response albelli

    Thanks for taking the time to review albelli. It is important for us to hear what is working well and where we can improve on things. We are glad to hear you have a positive experience with your colleagues. As much as we appreciate your comments, we can guarantee that we do not see any of our colleagues as a burden. We are putting extensive work currently into our People Plan 2020 and we are actively working to create an even better company culture. If you want more information on this plan and what our goals are (including what we are already achieving) check the albelli internal slack channels or reach out to recruitment or HR directly. Overall, I'm sorry you feel this way and if you want to discuss this over a coffee, please reach out directly

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Never a dull moment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at albelli full-time

    Pros

    The company is continually investing in improvements Great collaboration towards common goals Serious hiring policy, for talent and culture-fit Great parties, lunch, coffee, office perks

    Cons

    Ambitious targets can drive work pressure up

    Continue reading
    albelli2019-11-10

    albelli Response

    November 26, 2019Response albelli

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are glad to hear you have a good experience working with albelli. Thank you for your feedback regarding the culture in our offices. This is something we are spending a lot of time working on as part of our people plan for the coming year, which we launched this month. If you have any more feedback, please feel reach to reach out to the HR or recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  5. "Headed in the right direction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at albelli full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + freedom to challenge yourself + relaxed, inviting, and fluid culture + passionate people with a real drive to succeed

    Cons

    - doesn't always feel like we are one company - sometimes a bit old fashioned with benefits (not bad, just not creative)

    Continue reading
    albelli2019-09-26

    albelli Response

    October 2, 2019Response albelli

    Thanks for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you feel challenged and relaxed in our office environment and we will listen to your feedback regarding areas we can improve on. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Micromanagement and infantilism thrive here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at albelli full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Innovative IT company with offices next to Central Station.

    Cons

    Albelli is an international company with Dutch sensibilities. The national characteristic for bluntness when expressing opinions often creates uncomfortable social interactions with employees from other non-western European countries. They continue to struggle with this issue.

    Continue reading
    albelli2019-07-09

    albelli Response

    August 27, 2019Response albelli

    Thanks for the feedback - we appreciate it. We are sorry you feel this way about your experience in albelli. We are committed to making this a comfortable and collaborative workplace for all our employees and we are always striving for better communication. We will certainly listen to your advice to continue to improve ourselves as an employer.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dynamic, collaborative & fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Manager in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at albelli full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    International environment where colleagues become friends Dynamic & collaborative Hunger to grow Great for marketers, digital specialists, IT & production professionals Training & leadership opportunities Fast paced Fun - they celebrate success. Work hard, play hard!

    Cons

    Very few. The usual struggles that come with a matrix organisation and fast growth of a startup company. But under the new CEO came a good focus on strategy, professionalisation of HR, the joining up of production & head office to create 'one company' and a strong desire to open up collaboration between departments backed by a good leadership team.

    Continue reading
    albelli2019-06-12
  8. "Lots of autonomy & good work-life balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at albelli full-time

    Pros

    - Relaxed atmosphere with not too much pressure - Individuals given a lot of autonomy - There is a lot of room for employees to give their input and come up with creative ways to do things - No micro management - Flexible working times - Really international environment - Great office location

    Cons

    - Teams are a bit separated, not working together much

    albelli2019-05-02

    albelli Response

    May 27, 2019Response albelli

    Thanks for your feedback and we are happy you value our work-life balance! We are continuously working to improve our cross team collaboration.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, but slowly falling behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at albelli full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Nice colleagues * Great work life balance * Depending on the team, room to try new technologies and processes * Great office location next to Amsterdam Central Station * A cloud and DevOps oriented culture * Budget to go to conferences * Great parties

    Cons

    * Too many meetings, sometimes you spend more time on meetings than actually working. * Disconnection between the C-level and the rest of the company, decisions don't feel completely transparent. This has gotten better for some recent projects, but is still not there. * Lack of leadership, for some projects you will have to assume leadership even if that's not your job. Sometimes decision makers won't decide in projects, leaving you to make your own decisions, for better or for worse. * Silo-ed work between teams, every team is like an island which leads to disconnection between the different technology teams, and poor knowledge sharing across teams. * Lack of growth opportunities, unless you are willing to become a people's manager there are no real opportunities to grow. * Lack of attention to feedback given by employees, there are some basic things that are getting worse day by day, with things as basic as the lunch, but no one steps in to fix them.

    Continue reading
    albelli2019-04-24

    albelli Response

    June 4, 2019Response albelli

    Thank you for your feedback. You clearly address the areas we are working to improve; thanks! Only honest and direct feedback likes this will make us better. It is great to hear that we are progressing on the topic of transparency as this is something we are continuously trying to make better. We will take on board your other feedback and please feel free to speak to your manager or HR about any other concerns you may have.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at albelli full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good company culture: agile, young -Going data-driven: Transitioning smoothly to a more modern approach -Emphasis on personality and attitude of new hires, rather than strictly cold technical skillset, which leads to great groups of colleagues across all departments

    Cons

    -Application of agile methodology can be improved

    albelli2019-04-09

    albelli Response

    May 27, 2019Response albelli

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We are glad you like our working environment and we are working hard to ensure our agile way of working is continuously improving.

    Continue reading
Found 52 reviews