AppleOne Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

AppleOne Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
AppleOne CEO  Janice Bryant Howroyd
Janice Bryant Howroyd
284 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company history with many tenured key leaders(in 28 reviews)

  • "Those didn't work out, but not because of Apple One not trying for me(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have nothing but good things to say about Apple One(in 25 reviews)

  • "there are no cons with this outstanding group(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanic 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppleOne full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good company to work for

    Cons

    I don’t have any

    Continue reading
    AppleOne2020-04-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "An Okay Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 

    I worked at AppleOne full-time

    Pros

    As a Sales Consultant, you learn how to be a recruiter, business developer, and sales person. It’s a lot of experience for one role.

    Cons

    The pay is terrible. I wouldn’t suggest working there for over a year. If you’re new to recruiting, it’s a great way to get your foot in the door but that’s it.

    AppleOne2020-03-29
  3. "Great agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Entry Specialist in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AppleOne full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and helpful staff. Any questions you have, and they're happy to help

    Cons

    I've only been placed on a new assignment since my first one, which ended 3 months ago.

    AppleOne2020-03-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Find a different agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppleOne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros at this crooked company.

    Cons

    Appleone participates in unethical hiring practices. They adamantly charge clients a high rate for temporary employees only to cheat candidates out of fair market pay. They post jobs that are no longer active with slow intentions of removing those postings to keep candidates walking through their doors. Using candidates in which you have no intention of hiring to get leads for other potentials is disrespectful and unfair. Do not become a recruiter here go with the big names with huge candidate pools and better ethics.

    Continue reading
    AppleOne2020-03-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful!!! Fast placement, great Client."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at AppleOne

    Pros

    The overtime, my recruiting Manager

    Cons

    Not going to speak unpleasantness .

    AppleOne2020-02-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Worst employer in my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staffing Specialist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppleOne full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    none that I can think of

    Cons

    I worked at AppleOne for five years. It was, without a doubt, the worst company for which I have ever worked. I only stayed for five years beacuse I needed to re-establish longevity on my resume after the recession. Bernie Howroyd was a sleezy, leering jerk who encouranged employees to lie to potential clients and candidates. For example, he would tell us to lie to clients and tell them that we had gone to the same college as their child (as if this isn't easily verifiable via LinkedIn). The internal training staff was a joke. One of the 5 Bernie's Basics for business was "A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush." The trainers tried to tell us that this meant that one candidate would lead to two sales leads. Well no, this is a long-establish proverb that has a set meaning (what you have is worth more than what you might be able to get) but these fools thought that they could re-define it to fit the company's strategy of using candidates to mine for sales leads. The pay was abysmal with no differential according to location.

    Continue reading
    AppleOne2020-03-20
  7. "Administrative part-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at AppleOne part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Submitted me for several jobs.

    Cons

    Didn't keep track of my preferences.

    Continue reading
    AppleOne2020-02-17
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Career Growth and Community Oriented Organization!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppleOne full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to train and mentor at any level, strong training program with ongoing education, great colleagues, social work environment, uncapped commissions/earning potential

    Cons

    Health insurance is mediocre but benefits program is gradually improving over time. Not winning any awards for our coverage or our PTO package but company culture outweighs these things. Must be a self-starter to be successful, as well as having strong organizational and time management skills. This role is a sink or swim position long term which I personally love but makes it rough for rookies at times while they are finding their stride.

    AppleOne2020-01-10
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Unethical Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppleOne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you stay long enough you can make really good money The people you work with are fun

    Cons

    This company has some seriously unethical practices. They encourage you to post fake job ads and spin them as being frequent positions that they want you to pipeline for. You get in trouble for doing too many phone interviews so you have to drag these poor people into the office knowing well that you will never actually place them for the sake of not getting fired. Telling your clients that you only place the top 80% of talent is also a blatant lie, the recruiters use the same tools as everyone else to recruit. I felt very uncomfortable with what we were told to share with our clients and candidates. Management plays favorites and gives certain individuals special treatment like extra days off and work from home privileges for no apparent reason. You constantly have to watch your back here, if you are doing well then you will have a target on your back and just because you are doing well does not mean you will get any bonus incentive such as work from home or extra days off. All the perks are simply based on likes/dislikes. The pay is ridiculous in comparison to other agencies, you actually get paid less than what they say market average is according to their own salary guide. Everyday is like groundhog day here, nothing gets celebrated and everyday is the same. If you want to have a team outing then it comes out of your profit and the next month you get questioned about why your profit is low. Management is absent, we had no idea where our manager was 90% of the time. They have a training program but the people training you are brand new...it's a mess. Janice is only the face of the company, she never came out to visit our offices despite several promises to.

    Continue reading
    AppleOne2020-02-12
  10. Helpful (46)

    "Best Career Choice I could've made."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Cordova, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppleOne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Control your own Growth *Awesome training program for New Hires * Unlimited Earning Potential- Most recently had the largest take-home month in my 7 year career in staffing *Company is always investing in advancing employees through innovation and learning opportunities *Amazing team work opportunities.

    Cons

    *Benefits could be a little better

    AppleOne2019-08-08
Found 713 reviews