BASF Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

BASF Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2097 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
BASF CEO Martin Brudermüller
Martin Brudermüller
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "German management adds layers of bureaucracy(in 66 reviews)

  • "Company politics, consensual decision making makes the company slow(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits awesome Company to get on

    Cons

    No growth opportunities, just stepping stone

    BASF2019-06-20
  2. "Resercher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BASF full-time

    Pros

    Nice company, good salary, good opportunities.

    Cons

    Environment awful. A lot of people selfish.

    BASF2019-06-13
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Color Lab Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great group of people with long-term visions

    Cons

    Getting things done fast did not always happen.

    Advice to Management

    Everything thing was great with my tenure.

    BASF2019-06-12
  4. "Director Asia Pacific"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Freedom to innovate and changes

    Cons

    Highly structured and process oriented

    BASF2019-06-09

    BASF Response

    June 11, 2019Talent Branding & Diversity Specialist

    Thank you for the review and response!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning and Development Coordinator in Pasadena, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are competitive, pay is somewhat competitive, the people make it tolerable

    Cons

    As is the case with many companies, you are a statistic, although they want you to think otherwise. They cut and cut personnel until you can no longer keep up. Then they ask you for more, often without providing the support needed for success. That is what I saw, and what I heard from others.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t lay off long term employees people just to replace them with a lower paid employee. It is bad for the employee, for business, and it gives you a bad name.

    BASF2019-06-19
  6. "Decent pay, excellent benefits, if you can stand the work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at BASF

      Pros

      Pay, Benefits, education reimbursement, full pay short term

      Cons

      Night shift and working every other weekend

      Advice to Management

      The plant needs to focus on communication and standardizing

      BASF2019-06-03

      BASF Response

      June 18, 2019

      Thank you for taking the time to review your employment experience at BASF. We are happy you consider our Compelling Total Offer as a benefit to working at BASF!

    • "OK"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at BASF full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        the pay is pretty good

        Cons

        Too many bad Management issues

        BASF2019-06-14
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at BASF full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Nice environment and good people

          Cons

          Any standard big company provlems

          BASF2019-05-26
        • Helpful (1)

          "A good place to be"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Staff Scientist in Rochester Hills, MI
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at BASF full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Good pay, insurance, and many smaller benefits like health club reimbursement, fitness trackers that reward you($), etc. Good work live balance, but that may be up to each department head. Everything is safety first.

          Cons

          Like many large companies, there is much bureaucracy and paperwork. They seem to buy and sell divisions a lot. I've heard a joke that BASF stands for Buys And Sells Factories. If you don't set a new $$record this year it's "OMG the sky is falling, we've got to tighten our belts"

          BASF2019-05-22
        • Helpful (1)

          "Easy Job Low Pay"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Chemist in Detroit, MI
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I worked at BASF full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          The company is very nice. They focus heavily on keeping employees safe. There was room to grow and advance my career. The jobs are mostly pretty relaxed. In the office areas they had flexible hours where you could basically choose your schedule. Management was mostly very nice and personable. Most everyone was very nice.

          Cons

          The benefits are terrible. It was 350$ for insurance for me and my family, and even then the co-pays and deductibles made the insurance basically unusable. The tuition reimbursement is kind of a joke, although, it's similar to what most companies offer. The pay was abysmal. They pay as little as they can get away with, and raises were only 2.5% a year--never more. They're extremely anti-union and they rely heavily on...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Pay your employees more and offer better benefits.

          BASF2019-06-05
        Found 2097 reviews