Carousell Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Carousell CEO Siu Rui
Siu Rui
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food & drinks on Friday(in 7 reviews)

  • "Cant think of anything except abit later than usual start work timing, free lunch every friday(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "Carousell is a high growth, fast paced environment and the company's culture is designed for problem solvers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Country Head in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carousell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    :: Mission-first company --- aiming to inspire every person in the World to start selling & buying to make more possible for one another :: Company culture is designed for problem solvers; if you can solve major blockers / issues, you'll also gained tons of learnings & growth as a result. :: When it comes to solving meaningful problems, many of us also take extreme ownership and tend to over-communicate to ensure alignment. Some people may be surprised at first... but you'll eventually realize it's a norm at Carousell. :: Team members here will speak up when in doubt or call out things if it doesn't seem right. And we even do it during comms / townhall sessions with CXO level. I love the fact that many here feel safe for speaking up and asking relevant questions even to senior management. Kudos to the People's Team to organize such forums.

    Cons

    :: Ambitious goals, need to stretch ourselves to make magic happen together with the squad / working team :: The tech environment and our marketplace is constantly evolving... so you'll have to keep up with the pace and be relentlessly resourceful to get things done

    Continue reading

    Carousell Response

    November 27, 2020Marcus, Co-founder

    Hi there, thank you so much for making time to share this review and glad you like the work; team and senior management at the company so far! Means a lot to Lucas, Siu Rui and myself! We are not perfect. Please continue to hold us accountable to deliver impact to users and our mission; and share any improvement feedback to your managers or business partners or myself. Reach out to me anytime on slack, email or my mobile on bambooHR. Deeply appreciate it. - Marcus, Co-founder

  2. "No better Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carousell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great founders, culture, people, location

    Cons

    N O T H I N G

    Continue reading

    Carousell Response

    October 7, 2020Marcus, Co-founder

    Hi there, thank you so much for making time to share your experience at Carousell. Great to know you have a positive experience so far and you resonate with our culture and people. We are not perfect so please continue to hold us accountable for delivering impact to users and our mission. Please feel free to share any other improvement feedback to your managers or business partners or myself. Reach out to me anytime on slack, email or my mobile on bambooHR. Deeply appreciate it. - Marcus, Co-founder


  3. "Good learning experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carousell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work culture, diversity, learn new stuff

    Cons

    Work-life balance, need to be exceptional always

  4. "Great team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Director in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carousell full-time

    Pros

    Great entrepreneurial environment and opportunity to make an impact.

    Cons

    Slow decision making and indecision during uncertainty.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work at"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carousell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family culture embedded in the team

    Cons

    onboarding process may be abit slow

    Carousell Response

    October 7, 2020Marcus, Co-founder

    Hi there, thank you so much for making time to share your experience at Carousell. Great to know you have a positive experience so far and you resonate with our culture. On your feedback on onboarding, it is something we always strive to improve and I know the People Experience team is constantly refining it especially during this new way of work due to the pandemic. Rest assured, we are always looking to accelerate it so people can start contributing to our mission while balancing operations efficiency and being compliant. - Marcus, Co-founder

  6. COVID-19

    "Making Magic at Carousell"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Enablement Specialist in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carousell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive vibes all day every day, where we care deeply, solve problems together, and stay incredibly humble.

    Cons

    With Covid, it's impossible to all meet in person!

    Carousell Response

    October 7, 2020Marcus, Co-founder

    Hi there, thank you so much for making time to share your experience at Carousell. Great to know you have a positive experience so far and you resonate with our core values. Kudos to list some of them down :) On your feedback on meeting people, it is something we have missed because we believe health and safety is the top priority for our people. We believe in erring on the side of caution until there is a vaccine that is rolled out at scale. Nevertheless, I believe the people team has done a great job in engaging and facilitating engagement with regular updates and also organising activities for us to engage and get to know one another. If you have any suggestions on how we can improve interacting with one another, please feel free to let me know or anyone from the People team. - Marcus, Co-founder

  7. "Poor leadership, but nice peers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Carousell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice peers to hang out and talk to. Hardworking, down to earth and honest.

    Cons

    One of the poorest leadership I have seen in a tech company.

    Carousell Response

    September 14, 2020Marcus, Co-founder

    Hi there, thank you for making time to share your experience at Carousell. I am very sorry that you are having a negative experience with our leadership team. There is no excuse, and we should do better. It will be great if you can reach out to me or someone you are comfortable within our Executive Staff team or People (HR) team to share where we can do better specifically so we can learn and understand. Please feel free to reach me on slack or email marcus@carousell.com. Marcus, Co-founder

  8. "Nice company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Singapore

    I have been working at Carousell full-time

    Pros

    Not stressful, Flexible management, Code review, Company believes employees

    Cons

    Legacy code, but improving Salary not very high

    Carousell Response

    July 1, 2020Marcus, Co-founder

    Hi there thanks for your review. Glad you find the flexibility of management; work environment, code review and our belief in people to be positives. Also appreciate your points on legacy code and we are improving. For salary, we currently are not able to benchmark our salary to the highest-paid in the market, we do try to benchmark to be competitive and offer other forms of "rewards' by providing an environment to work on things that matter; lots of autonomy and also learning on the job. If you don't receive that, let me know. If you have any ideas on how we can do better, please reach out to me or your business partner on slack. - Marcus, Co-founder

  9. "Friendly culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Carousell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Smart people and friendly senior management.

    Cons

    Below-industry pay, some red tape

    Carousell Response

    June 10, 2020Marcus, Co-founder

    Hi there, thank you so much for this review and glad you like our culture; the work-life balance; team and senior management at the company so far! Means a lot to Lucas, Siu Rui and myself! Also appreciate your feedback on below 1) industry pay and 2) red tape. For 1) we are aiming to do better in investing in tools and data to benchmark from the industry. We also have deliberately added a senior compensation and benefits manager to drive this initiative in mid Q1 2020. While we are not the highest paying company in the industry, we aim to pay fairly and competitively. For 2) Agree that our organisation has become more complex because of the different geography; functions and business units (Squad). As such roles and responsibilities may not be clear, which causes prolonged alignment and approval on plans. This is something we are deeply reviewing and refining for H2 as this was also feedback from our recent employee engagement survey. We will be sharing more in our upcoming townhall. Keep a lookout. If you would like to discuss further; please feel free to reach me or your BP on slack or email marcus@carousell.com - Marcus, Co-founder.

  10. "good culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Carousell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fast paced, good culture and hiring many experienced seniors to shape and guide the future

    Cons

    reorganisation happens frequently but expected of a growing company

    Carousell Response

    July 1, 2020Marcus, Co-founder

    Hi there, thanks for sharing your experience. Glad you found the pace, culture and people positive. I agree we re-org often when we learn of new realities. We can do better in the change management and/or avoid it as it disrupts plans and team dynamics. Rest assured they are well-considered, deliberated and also we will try to minimise disruption as far as possible. If you have any ideas on how we can do better, please reach out to me or your business partner on slack. - Marcus, Co-founder

Viewing 1 - 10 of 81 English Reviews