Extra Space Storage Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Extra Space Storage Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
483 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Absolutely no cons with this company(in 32 reviews)

  • "It's really all about who upper management likes best is how you move up in this company(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and company to work for.

    Cons

    Nothing currently comes to mind.

    Extra Space Storage2019-11-19
  2. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Schedule Good a d easy work life balance People Fun Easy

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities Non dynamic

    Extra Space Storage2019-11-05
  3. "Great company to grow with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company, benefits, work/life balance and opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Health insurance can be a bit expensive however the company is always looking for ways to manage cost for the employees.

    Extra Space Storage2019-11-04
  4. "Great for work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours, Sundays off, good benefits.

    Cons

    Some traveling is required at times.

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Storage: A hidden jem career that boasts growth and opportunity; based on merit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Quality of life, Pay, Benefits, Growth opportunity, Easy access and prompt response from corporate personnel and operations teams/departments, Visual and interactive training and development, Company Values, and the list can really go on and on. I feel valued as an employee of 11 years, so I feel there are many pro's with Extra Space Storage.

    Cons

    The only con I've heard from other employees is not having 2 days off in a row every week. The business needs dictate that we are busy on Friday and Saturdays, so we currently get one weekend off a month. The trade off with this is that you have every Sunday off and a day during the week, which is great for me because you can get personal stuff done during the week and have family time all day on Sunday.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the continued efforts by living the ESS values and to never lose touch of the employees when making decisions/changes that affect those outside of yourselves.

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-22
  6. "Great PLace to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with public Lots of Responsibility Room for advancement

    Cons

    Hopefully your at a good location

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-27
  7. "It's a job, very little movement upwards. Pay is kind of stagnant."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage

    Pros

    The job is pretty enjoyable and people you work with are pretty cool.

    Cons

    Auctioning people stuff off kind of sucks

    Advice to Management

    Raise the pay and people will stop quitting.

    Extra Space Storage2019-11-06
  8. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Onsite Manager in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    On my own too much sometimes

    Cons

    Too quiet sometimes and slow

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-22
  9. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Extra Space for many years now, and it has been a great place to work. Growth has been a constant, which has brought new opportunities and improvements. The culture is positive and supportive. Work-life balance is good. Management takes what they hear from employees seriously.

    Cons

    No job is ever perfect, but I can't think of anything to complain of at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Progress in the last few years has shown that management is really listening to employees concerns and keeping competitive with other companies.

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-21
  10. "Extra Space Storage Rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Payroll Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extra Space is a company very friendly and welcoming. It is nice to work in a company that is so happy. Benefits are great, especially since they start on Day 1, as are the 401K and HSA programs. The PTO and holidays are very generous. We are paid to help with projects for the community. There is a very nice free on-site gym. There are break rooms with free snacks and a large kitchen with free soda. Underground... parking. Management is awesome!

    Show More

    Cons

    None come to mind.

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-21
Found 1070 reviews