MetLife Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

MetLife Reviews

Updated 25 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
MetLife President and CEO Michel Khalaf
Michel Khalaf
124 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance policies are not implemented effectively, as stated by executive management(in 107 reviews)

  • "Lack of communication with upper management(in 77 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lean Lead, Asia Center of Excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MetLife full-time

    Pros

    Inclusive, diverse, empowering culture, flexible, agile

    Cons

    Relatively conservative, limited risk appetite

    MetLife2019-07-17
  2. "Senior Project Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Lead in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Versatility, Flexibility, Benefits, Big Community, Culture

    Cons

    too Big, Growth, Learning Opportunities

    MetLife2019-06-12
  3. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MetLife part-time

    Pros

    Pretty decent benefits ; friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Might have different workload depending on position

    Advice to Management

    Render more assistance or employ more staff for certain departments which are lacking in staff, causing some employee to have heavy workload

    MetLife2019-04-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Management Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MetLife full-time

    Pros

    Large organisation perks and benefits

    Cons

    Frequent change of management and direction

    MetLife2017-10-13
  5. "Fantastic Culture and Ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time

    Pros

    Real multicultural MNC Great leadership Work Life balance

    Cons

    Would require a better customer centric strategy, too many customer complaints. Lagging a bit behind competition for Innovation and Digital Practice

    MetLife2017-05-03
  6. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MetLife full-time

    Pros

    People are very nice. High standards of hiring

    Cons

    Still a large old multination

    Advice to Management

    get your act together quickly

    MetLife2017-01-22
  7. "INNOVATIVE BUSINESS / QUALITY ASSURANCE ANALYST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MetLife full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Salary paid is below average

    MetLife2020-01-22
  8. "Great Comoany for work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Process Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can network with all levels in the company. People are friendly and ready to help you advance in your career.

    Cons

    Sometimes old-time managers are difficult to deal with and may create roadblocks when dealing with projects or other business aspects. mainly because they're used to doing things one way and are afraid of change.

    MetLife2020-01-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Whippany, NJ
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None except you can learn 10x slower than every other investment firm. The old metlife saying is what ever you learn at MetLife in your first 3 years is what others learn in 3 months.

    Cons

    The firm has no job security, expect a promotion only when people retire. With the recent restructuring it’s gotten even worse with everyone afraid of their jobs. Do not join a burning ship - and find a stable firm with people that care about you!

    Advice to Management

    Take your employees into consideration. With all the changes it’s become political on every level.

    MetLife2020-01-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - P&C INSURANCE SALES REPRESENTATIVE 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, amazing benefits, and the money is pretty good.

    Cons

    The base salary is pretty low and I recently found out that a male coworker w/ no prior sales experience makes a higher base salary than I do as a (female) experienced sales professional with a college degree. That really put a bitter taste in my mouth.

    MetLife2020-01-16
Found 3536 reviews