Micro Center Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Micro Center Reviews

Updated 15 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Micro Center President & CEO     Richard M. Mershad (no image)
Richard M. Mershad
270 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee discount incredible on non-big ticket items(in 85 reviews)

  • "Gain a lot of experience and knowledge about computers(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay and theres nothing quite like working 60(in 23 reviews)

  • "Commission based selling can be hard to deal with if other/new employees have a bad attitude towards how commission works(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Lead 

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    They Bendover for customers every single time

    Micro Center2020-03-13

    Micro Center Response

    March 30, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your 4 star review and it's great to hear that you enjoy the people you work with. Feel free to reach out to Home Office HR if you ever have any questions or concerns. Thanks Jennifer Micro Center Human Resources

    Continue reading
  2. "Enjoyable Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Madison Heights, MI

    I have been working at Micro Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount off of a lot of products.

    Cons

    Can get very busy and hectic.

    Micro Center2020-02-16

    Micro Center Response

    March 30, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thank you so much for the 5 star review. SO glad to hear that you are enjoying your work experience at our Madison Heights location. Thanks Jennifer Micro Center Human Resources

    Continue reading
  3. "TERRIBLE. forced to sell things and if you dont then no money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center

    Pros

    learning alot about technology, benefits after 30 days, great coworkers

    Cons

    forced to sell, having side work which takes time out of selling, more men than women of course

    Continue reading
    Micro Center2020-03-16

    Micro Center Response

    March 30, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for posting your review. We would love the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you. Feel free to reach out to your Regional HR Mgr or our VP of HR Angie Miller. She can be reached at 614-850-3150. Thank you Jennifer Micro Center Human Resources

    Continue reading
  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great team great discounts Room for growth

    Cons

    management is bad Lack of communication from staff

    Micro Center2020-02-07
  5. "Sales focused, but customer-centered PC repair business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PC Support Technician in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive management and excellent "soft skills" training. Decent base wage for the retail field

    Cons

    Actual base wage depends HEAVILY on upselling and vendor spiffs. Very little continuing education or training in technical skills and service. Bare minimum staffing for non-sales departments, so likely to have more repairs than you can handle

    Continue reading
    Micro Center2020-02-20

    Micro Center Response

    March 30, 2020Corporate Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the 4 star reviews of our comp & benefits, culture & senior management. If you are interested in sharing in more detail the comments you made in the advice to management section, feel free to reach out directly to either your Regional HR Mgr Terry or the VP of HR Angie Miller. We can be reached at 614-850-3150 directly. Thanks Jennifer Micro Center Human Resources

    Continue reading
  6. "pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BYO 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Pay highly depends on location

    Cons

    the work shift tends to be extremely long

    Micro Center2020-01-27
  7. "MicroManage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to work around the latest tech which is awesome if you're a nerd. Health benefits are pretty nice and you can make some serious money if you work hard and sell a lot, especially warranties.

    Cons

    They micromanage the hell out of you. A certain assistant manager will threaten to make you a cashier if your numbers slip a bit. They played favorites while I was there but I have friends who have worked there for over 5 years. Its nearly impossible to get into the department you want unless you brown nose or know someone personally. I had people hired in my department long before me who knew nothing about what they were selling.

    Continue reading
    Micro Center2020-02-08
  8. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BYO in Yonkers, NY
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good friendships made , pay is good if you can get a reseller or get lucky

    Cons

    Got fired for knocking down a sign with a ball. Insane hours 7-5 or 2-10

    Continue reading
    Micro Center2020-02-07
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Solutions Expert 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Perfect for student, plenty of opportunity to grow.

    Cons

    Holiday and back to school season can be overwhelming. There will be a lot of extra shifts to cover.

    Micro Center2020-01-14

    Micro Center Response

    January 27, 2020VP-Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your many years of dedicated service to the Company and our customers. We appreciate the feedback and wish continued success as an Expert with us. Sincerely, Angie Miller VP-HR

    Continue reading
  10. "Micro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outlet Manager in Iowa City, IA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Things are getting better sooner

    Cons

    Not too bad these days

    Micro Center2020-01-12

    Micro Center Response

    January 27, 2020VP-Human Resources

    I think this review may be for another company as we do not have any associates or stores in Iowa City.

    Continue reading
Found 681 reviews