Nordstrom Reviews

Updated 30 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom Co-President Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
491 Ratings
Pros
  • "Commission based allows for higher earning potential than most customer service jobs(in 696 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, room for growth(in 467 reviews)

Cons
  • "Returns deducted from commission(in 740 reviews)

  • "There were very long hours during sales(in 623 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun environment to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ever changing environment to work in. No two days are the same

    Cons

    Pay, hours especially at busy season

    Nordstrom2020-05-31
  2. "Great place if you are in-between life stages"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Mission Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They offer lots of help to advance you in the company.

    Cons

    Retail over all is going down a lot so the malls have much less traffic than they used to which makes the job be a bit dull and long sometimes.

    Nordstrom2020-05-29
  3. "Best Retail Employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time

    Pros

    Great team environment, decent benefits, good opportunities to grow with the company.

    Cons

    Unpredictable hours and days scheduled.

    Nordstrom2020-05-29
  4. "I LOVED WORKING FOR NORDSTROM"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TBD Sales Associate in Naples, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great money with comission. Great Base pay. Great management. Great employee discount.

    Cons

    Competitive and sometimes caty environment

    Nordstrom2020-05-27
  5. "Good place"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales in Barton Creek, TX

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers and good training

    Cons

    Commission based sales can be challenging

    Nordstrom2020-05-27
  6. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time

    Pros

    Awesome atmosphere and training for new launches

    Cons

    Hard to move up in company

    Nordstrom2020-05-27
  7. "EXPERIENCE GREAT, PAY NOT GREAT"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of training, education. A great starting job to prepare for bigger jobs. Lots of lessons/disciplines learned.

    Cons

    Pay, Long Hours, Lots of Politics for Promotions

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom2020-05-27
  8. "Many life long memories of a company I hope will sustain in a personal way as we move forward"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Manager in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    many become your family, as long time employee 1994-2017 being able to promote from within and experience many areas of the company and many opportunities for growth and mentor-ship with those that provided positive leadership, always something to learn and when lead by the best a balance of autonomy and mentored direction

    Cons

    work/life balance, shifts in staffing with overall retail evolution particularly to e.commerce resulting in instability in staffing, hours fluctuation with same expectations for performance in many areas of responsibilities and goals

    Nordstrom2020-05-28
  9. "Assistant manager for shoe sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager - Selling Department 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to grow within the company

    Cons

    Schedule is subject to change at any given moment

    Nordstrom2020-05-26
  10. "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Escondido, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are many opportunities and benefits

    Cons

    The retail hours can be hard

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom2020-05-27
Found 11746 reviews