SGN Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

SGN Reviews

Updated 11 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and good career opportunities(in 8 reviews)

  • "Amazing training, management team are brilliant, never bored, great people to work with(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The senior management team never seem to listen(in 9 reviews)

  • "Long hours with unpaid breaks can lead to fatigue especially in the busy winter months(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Challenging but enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Architect in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of challenging work but good chance to develop skills

    Cons

    Slow to progress new technologies and architecture directins

    SGN2020-02-11
  2. "Innovation Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Staff are great, salaries are decent

    Cons

    Bonuses are non-existent, very male-centric misogynist culture

    SGN2020-01-21

    SGN Response

    February 10, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for your recent review. Like many utilities companies, we have a predominantly male workforce but we're working hard to achieve a greater gender balance and address outdated views. We also want to attract diverse talent to work alongside the great bunch of people we already have.

    Continue reading
  3. "It could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Craftsman 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, standby, ppe and van provided

    Cons

    Poor management, big brother always watching

    SGN2020-01-27

    SGN Response

    February 10, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for leaving us a review. We're always looking for ways to improve so will be sure to take your feedback on board.

    Continue reading
  4. "Governance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Audit in Horley, Oxfordshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and opportunities for next two decades

    Cons

    Difficult location but offset by online meeting

    Continue reading
    SGN2020-01-11

    SGN Response

    January 17, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for your five-star review. Online meetings are helping us to reduce travel and work smarter, we've had a lot of positive feedback about this. And we couldn't agree more about the great people and opportunities!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are structures in place to help you move up the different pay scales Progression is there if you want it You have targets to achieve but you are also in charge of your own workload

    Cons

    Can be quite stressful having to rely on others to be able to successfully do your job

    SGN2020-01-07

    SGN Response

    January 17, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for your recent review. It's great to read such positive comments from someone early into their career at SGN. Like you highlighted, there's lots of scope for progression here which we hope you enjoy throughout your career with us.

    Continue reading
  6. "Not great but not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Labor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The money is good if your willing to give up any other social life/hobbies you have

    Cons

    If your good at your job there's no progression offered, management will tread on any one to make them self's look good, 0 work to live balance with the "if you don't like it leave" attitude.

    Continue reading
    SGN2020-01-16

    SGN Response

    February 10, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. If you're interested in progression, I would encourage you to speak to your manager or local HR Manager and find out how they can help. We take on board your feedback about work-life balance; the recent changes to shift patterns are helping us to strike a balance that works for our business and our people. This can be difficult, especially in winter, as it's our busiest time but we're hearing lots of good things and welcome feedback from affected colleagues.

    Continue reading
  7. "A job for life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Call Operative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you're a grafter, can follow procedures & instructions, and eager to earn good money, this job is right up your street. Answer your phone when on call and you can expect £50k + per annum without even trying.

    Cons

    Long hours - but you're financially compensated very well. Core hours work life balance is good if you're satisfied with the basic salary. This is NOT a role for a lazy individual who wants to get paid for nothing.

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-11-23

    SGN Response

    November 26, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your views! The role of First Call Operative is incredibly important and we realise it can be demanding so it's important we compensate fairly for this. It's great to hear you consider SGN a job for life and we hope you enjoy a long and fulfilling career with us.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a pleasant work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stakeholder Engagement Manager in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most staff seem friendly enough

    Cons

    Poor training for managers. I felt very bullied by my line manager and when I tried to speak out, HR backed manager all the way. I was on the receiving end of some very unpleasant and inappropriate comments. I think there’s a reason why SGN do not have a diverse workforce. Managers seem quite old fashioned and don’t realise you cannot and should not criticise someone for how they look. Maybe you should introduce some unconscious bias training? I have offered on a a few occasions to sit down with management and HR to discuss why some of their processes are not fit for purpose but have received no response.

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-12-10

    SGN Response

    January 8, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    We are sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience at SGN but please be assured that, since leaving us in August last year, we have taken the feedback from your exit interview on board. Our recent employee opinion survey revealed our inclusion index to be consistent with the UK norm and we'll continue working hard to make SGN a workplace where everyone, regardless of difference, is valued, respected and encouraged to do their best. Wishing you all the very best for the future.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "The Worst Job I have Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rather Not Say in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There isn't even free tea and coffee! That would be a tiny benefit that would make the day a tiny bit better. The pay is OK though, so that keeps lots of deadwood here at SGN HQ. People not going anywhere as pay is good, so people can stay in the job a long time. And if you are a BULLY, SGN is a great place to be.

    Cons

    This is the worst job I have ever had. The organisation has quite a few bullies, and if you try to do things for the benefit of consumers or the environment, you are targeted as being a trouble-maker. The manager in my section gave me a talking to when I started at SGN, basically saying that if I acted on my own initiative, I would be sacked. He ended by saying "It's my way or the high-way!" The trouble is, his way is old and outdated and breaches the rules set out by Ofgem and the HSE. And HR are truly the most biased HR team in the whole of the UK. If you are not a senior manager, then you will probably bot be listened to by HR.

    Continue reading
    SGN2019-11-01

    SGN Response

    November 25, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for your recent review. I'm not sure how your view of HR has been formed but the department has undergone significant change over the past couple of years. We're committed to providing a quality service to our people and the business and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experiences further.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Manager in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its a dynamic business, really up and coming in their technology, a fast paced and exciting place to work at the sharp end of today's technology. I find most the people here are really down to earth, minimising on the fluff and jargon, they actually get on with the work! I am well supported by my manager and I feel appreciated. Incredibly busy, but the work life balance is good! It is still early days in the business, but so far so good.

    Cons

    Its a bit chaotic at times, lots going on. Office is very industrial and dated compared to other businesses I have worked in, limited on facilities, basic canteen, no gym and located in an industrial estate.

    SGN2019-09-23

    SGN Response

    November 6, 2019Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving us a review. It's great to hear you think SGN is a great company to work for! We hope you continue to enjoy working here and being part of the SGN family.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 104 reviews
</>Embed