Gap Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6,917 of over 7,230 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Mark Breitbard
Mark Breitbard
240 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employee discount was awesome(in 507 reviews)

  • "Amazing people, good benefits and great discount(in 329 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Pressure to push store credit cards(in 269 reviews)

  • "long hours, a lot of manual labor(in 158 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      fun working environment

      Apr 11, 2017 - Retail Sales Associate in Bukit Merah Estate,
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great staff management, and a great working environment

      Cons

      no cons. everything was ok

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Sales Assistant

      Jul 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good working atmosphere. Friendly staff.

      Cons

      Not stable working hours. The shifts will be announced week by week.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gap Response

      Company Representative

      Thank you for providing feedback. We understand scheduling can be a pain point for some of our store employees. We're constantly working to improve the way in which we staff our stores to ensure that we're best utilizing our time, talent, and energy.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Retail Assistant

      May 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly co-workers, nice environment, chill

      Cons

      Stand for long, not efficient

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Alright

      Feb 9, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many cohesions Sales targets are realistic

      Cons

      Store managers might use "scare tactics" such as surveillance Bonus was not given even though I have hit target - "Since you are leaving, we do not need to give you bonus as bonuses are for motivating people to stay"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Micro-managers, unethical credit card sales

      Aug 1, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A major company afraid of labor violations, so you will get your breaks and lunch break on time.

      Cons

      Managers micro-manage employees like crazy, especially cashiers, and it’s all because they make their good money on selling credit cards nobody actually pays attention to the outrageous interest rate on. Constant pressure to “temporarily,” work 40 hours a week for a “part time,” job. Not compatible for college students

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Customer Service Representative

      Aug 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The employee discount was exceptional and the staff was fun and vibrant, I always liked going into work and the playlist they had were very good

      Cons

      Having to clean up every shift and leaving the store really late, sometimes it would be understaffed for the night shift

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Most stressful job I've ever had

      Jun 14, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Asheville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount and benefits package. Decent pay however not worth the stress.

      Cons

      Too much pressure to push credit cards. It is the companys only concern. If you're not meeting your goals then you will hear about it nonstop from upper management. The expectations are unrealistic for tasking versus credit card sales. Again, this is their number 1 priority. I was a new hire manager for a little over a month and never received proper training, was never allowed to do what I was hired for, which is Merchandising and to work with the staff on credit card sales. It was always about credit cards, and trying to pitch them the "Gap way". My new approach was shot down because I believed not throwing credit cards at the customers as soon as they approached the cash wrap would be more effectice. However Gap wants that to be first thing you mention as well as on the floor and throughout the customers shopping. Not mention the expectation to work extra hours, coming in early or staying late to recover the store because, again, if you're not getting cards then nothing else at all should be done during business hours. I was employeed 5 weeks and have never been more stressed at a job in the 15 years I have been working.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      great

      Aug 2, 2021 - Customer Engagement Specialist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      super fun to work for, a good team, and they don't expect too much from you. I was quickly promoted to this role, so they reward hard work and attention to detail.

      Cons

      Not a lot of cons that are specific to working for the Gap. I feel that retail is not for everybody, and

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A nice friendly place... but not forever

      Jun 14, 2021 - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great employee discount (50% off at all Gap Inc stores) Good amount of hours after a couple months, perfect for a student Atmosphere is generally warm but some managers are hard to deal with. After someone gets promoted from Associate to a higher level position you really notice an attitude shift. Clothing retail is generally a horrible industry to work in but Gap was pretty non-toxic for the most part - especially in the KB section, not Adult

      Cons

      Unlike other retail shops, here you're expected to talk to customers first and don't earn commission for it. It gets really exhausting especially because managers will get mad at you if you don't talk to every person in the store at least 3 times, in which case everyone gets annoyed. Hard to change availability (takes at least 3 weeks for it to take affect)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Summer Job

      Jul 29, 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a great job if you are home from school on summer break. Flexible hours and schedule. Friendly staff and fast training.

      Cons

      It's retail so you might have some rude customers but overall it's a great job to have. The hours for shipment are early but it's nice because you get the rest of the day to yourself.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,917 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Work at Gap? Share Your Experiences

    Gap logo
    or