Glassdoor Reviews

Updated May 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 811 of over 887 reviews

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Christian Sutherland-Wong
Christian Sutherland-Wong
209 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is strongly encouraged which is table stakes as a father with a young child(in 103 reviews)

  • "Great people ( They really are 'good eggs' in GD lingo)(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company has growing pains they are working out(in 49 reviews)

  • "None, good work life balance, freedom(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      A model for other companies to follow

      Apr 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Glassdoor walks the talk, period. For the first time in my life I can envision myself HAPPILY working for this company until I retire. Everyone I've met and dealt with has been a breath of fresh air. Smart, professional, creative, up on the latest trends, forward-thinking and dedicated to a positive culture for all employees. The interview experience was one of the best I've had (with minor exceptions noted below), starting out with complete salary transparency, being up-front about the benefits package, and offering quality interviews that gave great insight on my department and the company's goals. I am happy in my work, and because of the multifaceted approach to a positive, supportive culture, I feel taken care of and valued for my contributions and encouraged to achieve work/life balance. Honestly, it's astounding - I've never felt this way before about working anywhere, and I have had a LOT of jobs. I am particularly impressed with the CEO, and I don't impress easily when it comes to the C-suite. He's incredibly sharp, deeply genuine, passionate about his work and energetically and authentically driven to keep the company moving forward. The employee resource groups and Slack channels are an outstanding way to encourage and support different specialized groups of employees.

      Cons

      The interview process is lengthier and more complicated than it needs to be in an environment where talent is impatient and have their pick of jobs. I had to meet with five different people to get the job, and several of them are not even people I work with. I understand careful vetting, but would empower department heads to make decisions earlier in the hiring process without having to involve so many different levels of interview. While this isn't my record for interviews (I had 7 interviews at one company), it's 2nd place.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      CEO

      Thanks for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your experience working here at Glassdoor. Insights like these really help job seekers and employees understand what it’s truly like to work at a company, and are vital to helping us fulfill our mission. It particularly means a lot that you acknowledge how Glassdoor walks the talk. Operating transparently isn’t always easy, but it’s fundamental for us to do as we advocate for transparency in every workplace, not just our own. I also appreciate the feedback you provided on the duration of our interview and hiring process, as well as your perspective and recommendations around our various employee perks and benefits. Our full list of perks and benefits are always evolving and I know the Total Rewards team is eager to hear this type of feedback as they continue to evaluate our offerings. Thanks again. - Christian Sutherland-Wong, CEO

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent Start!

      May 12, 2022 - VP Design 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company that is living it's values and mission-focused

      Cons

      None so far...so far so good.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. Ask Employees™

      Glassdoor creates a culture of care for employees impacted by societal events.

      Agreed or Strongly Agreed:88%Polled:Mar 2022Responses:351 ResponsesResponses:351Audience:All employees
      Agree 178 (51%)
      Featured Employee Response

      Glassdoor, I believe is a global leader in how to empathetically support employees in the midst of turbulent times. I can't tell you how much this means to me, and the people I work with.

      View All Polls
    4. Tech | Division of Glassdoor
      5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Transparent Company with Strong Engineering Culture

      May 2, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Extremely transparent company with solid ethics - Amazing co-workers that encourage collaboration and innovation whenever possible - Fairly solid benefits (slightly less than other tech companies, but overall mostly comparable) - Fosters strong work / life balance - Remote friendly - New office for those who want to use it is amazing - Strong engineering culture with bi-annual hackathons that almost always has projects that end up in production and / or drive new product decisions

      Cons

      - Benefits could be slightly better (better 401k match, sabbaticals, bringing back 2 company holidays a month, more logical geo-tiers for pay) - Although becoming less of a problem, lots of resources spent on legacy tech debt - For a while innovation seemed stagnant, but with new fishbowl initiatives (among other things), we seem to be moving in the right direction.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      VP of Engineering

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Glassdoor. We're very proud of maintaining our strong engineering culture, and our great people are the lifeblood of our company. I hear your points on the legacy tech - we are working on eliminating as much as possible, as soon as possible! I appreciate your comments on our priorities, and you can rest assured that it is top of mind for us. - Shane O'Grady, VP of Engineering

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing People

      Apr 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great group of professionals. Everyone made it fun to work there.

      Cons

      There is constant change, often for the sake of just changing

      1 person found this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for leaving a review! We're thrilled to read that your time at Glassdoor is remembered fondly. We're proud of how many wonderful people choose to grow their careers at Glassdoor, and truly believe we have fun together furthering our mission. As is the case with most companies in our industry, we must often make adjustments to adapt to the ever-changing talent marketplace in order to best serve our users and foster innovation for our teams. That said, we take proactive communication about change with our employees seriously, and never want change to be a surprise or the product of decisions made behind closed doors. We'll take this feedback to heart and strive to be even better in this area. Thanks again for your feedback! - Mark Batke, Employer Brand Manager

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Review

      May 6, 2022 - Senior Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of talented people that shared a passion for the platform.

      Cons

      Direction of the company and long-term strategy were vague and open ended.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad to read you were surrounded by talented, passionate people during your time at Glassdoor. I'm pleased to share that, as of April 2022, 93% of our employees report having clarity when it comes to our vision and long-term company strategy. We're sorry this was not the case for you. Thanks again! - Mark Batke, Employer Brand Manager

    7. Business | Division of Glassdoor
      5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      An emotionally intelligent brand with great people.

      Apr 14, 2022 - Senior Product Marketing Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -An overarching sense of altruism throughout various teams to help clients -Exciting time to be here given roadmapping and plans for the next 1-2 years -Indeed partnership has opened a lot of doors, despite a rocky rollout -My team has been incredibly supportive and welcoming of new ideas -Excellent leadership; very approachable, collaborative and real -I feel very taken care of via comp, benefits, DEI programs, W/L balance

      Cons

      -B2C Product needs to modernize to win consideration of younger audiences -Folks seem to be running thin, we could easily use hundreds more people -Indeed relationship is overall positive, but current systems and tools make it very challenging to work collaboratively which is felt by clients

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      VP of Product Marketing

      Thanks for your feedback and welcome to Glassdoor! Excited to build on this special culture, our new product vision, and growing investment in marketing with you. - Eric Petitt, VP of Product Marketing

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best workplace I've worked in

      Mar 29, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hardworking and very kind coworkers. Also we have the option to work fully remote. They truly care about their employees

      Cons

      Could get busy at times but that happens at any job.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Internal Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for dropping us a review! We hear so many rave reviews about the quality of the people we hire, and it never gets old. We're so glad to hear that you've appreciated the work ethic and character of those you've worked alongside thus far on your Glassdoor journey. As our office spaces begin to reopen, we are looking forward to modeling what a world-class hybrid workforce looks like, and we love the flexibility that our 'Work Where You Want' policy offers our employees. As with any company experience the rapid growth that we are, there's plenty of work to be done, but please take the steps provided to you to set aside time for rest and recharge. Thanks again! - Mark Batke, Internal Employer Brand Manager

    9. Business | Division of Glassdoor
      5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best work culture is also a meritocracy

      Apr 1, 2022 - Talent Acquisition Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive & supportive work culture, emphasis on work/life balance, a true meritocracy where your performance is rewarded in realtime.

      Cons

      No company is perfect, but I'm hard pressed to find cons working at Glassdoor.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Glassdoor! We take pride in our culture and ensure we pay for performance. Please keep the feedback coming on how we can continue making Glassdoor a company you love. - Carina Cortez, Chief People Officer

    10. Business | Division of Glassdoor
      4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to start early in your career

      Apr 2, 2022 - People Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, work-life balance, fun events, more good people than bad, professional development opportunities, and supportive culture and awesome co-workers but only if you're lucky enough to find the right people. If you're starting off in your career this is a great place to learn. Although misguided and out of touch at times, their DEI efforts are respectable and they're trying, which was great to see.

      Cons

      Leadership only pretends to be transparent and supportive, favoritism, lots of turnover, poor communication between departments makes your work harder than it has to be, babysitting and making sure other people do their job right, passive-aggressive/fake culture at times. Some sales leadership recently left without any opportunities lined up so that was alarming to see. Not a lot of room for growth, promotions are usually one level at a time so be prepared to wait. Unless you're a favorite- then you might get promoted within a year, maybe even 2 or 3 times.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Sr. Director of DE&I

      Thanks for leaving a review of your experience at Glassdoor. Our culture, benefits, ERG events, development opportunities and the amazing people that work here are indeed incredible. Our DEI program, while far from perfect, has come a long way, and we're proud of the steps we've taken to engage and retain our talent, as well as bring in fresh perspectives and backgrounds into our organization. We are pleased to recently welcome two new Sr. Execs who bring a wealth of experience, as well as increased racial & ethnic diversity to our senior leadership team. We have a healthy promotion rate, and a transparent promotion process available for all employees to see. Our goal is to make Glassdoor a place where everyone has access to opportunity, growth, and learning - and it sounds like you got to experience that. Thank you for your feedback! - Jacob Little, Sr. Director of DE&I

    11. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice company and nice people

      Apr 7, 2022 - Employer Branding Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Everyone here is very friendly and helpful -Nice benefit -Reasonable pay

      Cons

      Everything is great at this point.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Glassdoor Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Glassdoor! We take pride in our culture and take steps to lead our industry in the total rewards package we offer, frequently making changes and additions in response to employee feedback and needs. We hope you continue to grow your career with us — the best is yet to come! - Mark Batke, Employer Brand Manager

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 811 Reviews

    Glassdoor Reviews FAQs

    Glassdoor has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 887 reviews left anonymously by employees. 77% of employees would recommend working at Glassdoor to a friend and 61% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Glassdoor employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Glassdoor. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

    77% of Glassdoor employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Glassdoor 4.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.3 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Glassdoor Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Glassdoor? Share Your Experiences

    Glassdoor logo
    or