Hays Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Hays Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,266 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is definitely a work hard play hard type of company and colleagues quickly become friends(in 140 reviews)

  • "Career progression are very transparent(in 139 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A very vibrant environment with great development programs (in-house training structure) for all levels (junior - senior). Open to suggestions and listens to their employees.

    Cons

    Competitive but competition is healthy.

    Hays2019-12-04
  2. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    no Japanese language skill needed

    Cons

    A competitive environment. Overall negative experience

    Hays2019-11-14
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic company culture in Singapore

    Cons

    lack of senior leadership team and maturity

    Hays2019-09-29
  4. "The best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Surrounded by lots of good people. Assessment centre is very thorough - people who join here feel like they’ve really earned their spot, and I think that makes us all pretty motivated to exceed. Lots of training provided. Classroom and with managers. The boss also does coaching!

    Cons

    Have to work hard to keep up with the pack. You are constantly ranked with everyone all year, so if you fall behind, theres no hiding.

    Advice to Management

    Loving so far. Thanks for hiring me and I hope to be the best!

    Hays2019-09-08
  5. "Rewarding with lots of training and development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company for training and development. Big brand too. I have friends who work at smaller firms and struggle to get clients. The management team are all quite young and know how to connect with the employees. Most of them are local which i like

    Cons

    Its hard work. The managers are also very busy - they spend a lot of time with you when you first join, but after a while its definitely a sink or swim approach. I am a good performer so I am rewarded well, but i have friends here who also work very hard but for some reason dont perform - they dont tend to be recognised for their hard work if results arent there.

    Advice to Management

    I like the rewards culture. Would be good to see acknowledgement giving to all employees who work hard, regardless of performance.

    Hays2019-08-28
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Looks good on the surface"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Community. Your colleagues are always there to support you. Great work location and easy brand to reach out to the clients. It’s a good place for fresh graduates but not a place for people who like to progress in their career.

    Cons

    Hays have a pretty bad name in the market. Experience recruiters typically prefer not to join Hays. Too many fresh graduates but that’s also because the management is really young. Asia MD has a big vision of promoting the locals and honestly it shouldn’t be something that needs to be pushed. In his defense when he took over the local office thrived with a really great culture. People worked hard because he had a... 200% support from the ground. Kudos to him and his vision. The current MD that recently took over is highly sensitive and yearn for respect from the ground. It’s clear that he does not care about turnover (his own words) he is more concerned that he keeps the ones who can bills and who blindly supports him. He throws his own employees under the bus and creates politics behind the screen. This is the culture he builds and it’s going to stay. It will come to a point where the people stop wanting to work hard for him and there will continuously be a lack of middle management and the entire office would be filled of fresh graduates. There’s a need for a review to be honest as the company has been pushing employees to write good reviews on Glassdoor just to have the trophy “great place to work” also to have people see through a beautiful picture the management is trying to paint.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Create a good culture and the fees will follow.

    Hays2019-09-01
  7. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you want a supportive work culture and environment where people are happy for each other when placements are made, and everyone helps one another, Hays is the place to be. A lot of the management decisions are also made towards helping us achieve better productivity. There are many interesting activities planned by the HR and people are generally very bonded here. However, it is a work hard play hard culture,... and unlike certain recruitment firms where it's widely accepted to only make one placement every 4 or 6 months, results are expected monthly here. It's slightly different as you are not motivated by your team leaders, but motivated by yourself and your peers, as everyone is doing very well.

    Show More

    Cons

    High stress because everyone performs really well

    Advice to Management

    There are a lot of new initiatives by the Management to motivate our productivity rate and we have a fantastic HR team. Only thing I'd say is keep up the good work and thank you!

    Hays2019-08-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Entertaining environment, that's all really

    Cons

    Lack of Management, that's all really

    Advice to Management

    Change management, that's all really

    Hays2019-08-26
  9. "Great career choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are open, and helpful across teams. There is a very work hard, play hard culture! Work life balance is encourage here compared to other sales places. Supportive managers. Career progression are very transparent.

    Cons

    Needs to be loud sometimes in order to be notice.

    Hays2019-06-20
  10. "I am currently jion with Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like this company and I know this company is increase the quality of the my future

    Cons

    I like the challenges and when the challenges are affected me but i know about it i am sincerely finished my work in very good and in correct time.

    Advice to Management

    The upper management of this company is done their work in very correctly and i appreciate it

    Hays2019-06-19
Found 2444 reviews
</>Embed