Philips Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Philips Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Philips CEO Frans van Houten
Frans van Houten
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research and Development Engineer in Maple Grove, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is my first job out of college, and everyone I work with is kind and helpful in getting me acclimated to post-college work life. There are also several employee engagement-type events where we all get to know one another in a more casual context. I feel like people at this company are far more in sync and connected than other companies I've worked for. I know "company culture" is a buzzword/phrase, but this is the first company that has made me realize the impact of good company culture.

    Cons

    We are in the middle of a site transition, so it's very busy around here. Lots of new hires. Not necessarily a bad thing- everyone is excited about work! It just gets a little hectic at times. Honestly though, it is far more exciting than hectic so I don't really have any complaints.

    Continue reading
    Philips2019-06-26

    Philips Response

    June 27, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your well-explained thoughts and experiences here. We're glad to hear you're having a good time working with us, we're also glad to have you on board! Of course, there are also always things that can be improved on, so we will make sure to have a good look at your feedback and advise. Once again, we appreciate you sharing your review, and keep up the good work!

    Continue reading
  2. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career progression & Opportunity within the company.

    Cons

    Matrix organisation, resulted in unclear accountabilities.

    Continue reading
    Philips2019-08-07

    Philips Response

    August 8, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks a lot for taking some time to share your view of the organization as a whole, as well as your personal account. We do hope to respect all individuals in the organization, as we hope to create a very open environment, where hierarchy is not the most important factor. Your take on things does mean a lot to us, seeing that you've been with us for quite some time, and are thus acquainted with the organization quite well. It's good to read that after all these years, you keep seeing a lot of opportunity. Keep it up!

    Continue reading
  3. "Procurement director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is not bad

    Cons

    Profit is not good on health products

    Philips2019-10-06

    Philips Response

    October 10, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, thanks for sharing some insights on your job at Philips with us here. Great to hear you can appreciate the work life balance and that you would recommend us as an employee. All the best with your career!

    Continue reading
  4. "Top down approach, very global driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent products, well known brands. Your learning on business can be extensive

    Cons

    No focus on developing people, headcount so limited hence workload is too much and the matrix system make it even complicated

    Philips2019-09-22

    Philips Response

    September 25, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, we highly appreciate it that you've decided to share your honest thoughts on working for our company so far here on Glassdoor. It's a pity to hear that there's more workload than you expected and that you're missing the opportunities to develop yourself more. A reasonable workload and the opportunities for our employees to grow are of high importance to us and we hope that we can encourage you to discuss your points of improvement with your (HR) manager. Your feedback will be duly noted either way, as our management is active on this platform as well. Thank you for leaving your review here and thank you for being on board!

    Continue reading
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Place to work in

    Cons

    Regional team was often reorganised

    Philips2019-09-01

    Philips Response

    September 5, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, thanks for sharing some thoughts on your former job with Philips here. Great to hear you were generally happy with us! All the best with your career.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Marketing Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Respect people; liberal; open-minded to new challenges

    Cons

    slow. below market level compensation

    Continue reading
    Philips2019-08-18

    Philips Response

    August 22, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, thanks for writing down your thoughts and experiences here. Great to hear you're overall happy working for us. Your points of improvement are highly valuable too. As higher management is active on this platform, you may consider your feedback duly noted. All the best with your career!

    Continue reading
  7. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues , Great Office, attention for work life balance.

    Cons

    Like everywhere, there are a few bad apples in the basket.

    Philips2019-08-10

    Philips Response

    August 16, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, thanks for sharing your thoughts here. Great to hear you're happy about the work-life balance and your colleagues!

    Continue reading
  8. "Senior Manager, Healthcare IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager, Healthcare IT in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Office at Non Business District

    Cons

    Business Unit not united, BU's competing each other

    Continue reading
    Philips2019-08-04

    Philips Response

    August 8, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking a moment to reflect on your time with us for the past years. It's much appreciated, as we're always looking for ways to improve our operation. Please rest assured that our managing teams read these pages as well. Furthermore, I'd like to wish you all the best in your career from here on out.

    Continue reading
  9. "First thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Philips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very open working spaces with a huge number of meeting rooms. Staff disc of organisation's products

    Cons

    HR is hard to spot and find. Everything is thru the portal and self help. New comers would feel alienated to company's hr policies as there is no clear introduction on the 1st day of work.

    Continue reading
    Philips2019-05-18

    Philips Response

    May 23, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, it's great to hear your thoughts here, and that you're happy with the working space provided. Your feedback on the accessibility of HR is very valuable to us as well. As higher management is active on this platform as well, rest assured your feedback is duly noted. Thanks so much for sharing this and your points of improvement and all the best in your Philips career!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Singapore

    I worked at Philips full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, great environment, great office, great culture

    Cons

    A little slow in some decision-making due to layers and hierarchy

    Philips2019-02-18

    Philips Response

    February 21, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, thank you very much for sharing your experience working with us for over the last 10+ years. I'm glad to see you can look back on a career with us that was filled with nice people and a great working environment. I wish you all the best going forward in your career!

    Continue reading
Found 68 reviews