Zalando Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Zalando Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
266 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Gehalt eher am unteren Ende dessen, was(in 27 reviews)

  • "Salaries in commercial roles are not great for German standards(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (17)

    "Very diverse and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing People and Culture, very diverse, chance to work with people from all around world and from very different companies. Nice perks, a lot of events, meetups, celebrating diversity.

    Cons

    Too many organisational changes in a very short time

    Zalando2019-06-14
  2. "Business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Great team, location is favorable, good benefits

    Cons

    Workload can be pretty heavy

    Zalando2019-12-08
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager 

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Good team with nice working atmosphere

    Cons

    Difficult place to grow career

    Zalando2019-12-06
  4. "Great technical people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big organisation but start up vibe.

    Cons

    Long process. Teams may work in Silos.

    Zalando2019-12-01
  5. "Good (almost great) employer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enormous opportunities for impact, chance to work on projects/have conversations at eye level with top management. Interesting intellectual challenges, great colleagues, flexible working hours, emphasis on work/life balance. Leadership is often open to criticism and is not afraid to change what isn't working.

    Cons

    - Performance management process lacks transparency, is overly cumbersome, and makes no sense..specifically when it comes to salary allocation + promotion. - Some managers are extremely (almost comically) risk averse - this is extremely annoying and often leads to decision paralysis. - Compensation structure quite one-dimensional unless you are a top performer or in management.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, you're doing a good job. Make salary review process more clear and we'll all be better off.

    Zalando2019-11-26
  6. "Dynamic, flexible work atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Planner in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I appreciate the flexible working hours that I can use at zalando. Being a mother of two girls and still working full time I need a company which lets me work individually and flexible. I also enjoy the support and Challenge I have experiences with my leads. I could always be open with my feedback and would have never feared to say something wrong. Last but not least I really cherish the dynamic work... environment. It’s basically continuous change which motivates me and keeps me busy.

    Show More

    Cons

    Actually I don’t have a lot to complain about. I think people often blame the company for things they should just fight for (such as a work life balance) themselves. We could definitely do a bit better in terms of sustainability and diversity however zalando is only a representation of society and at least we made a start here.

    Zalando2019-11-23
  7. "Berlin and Zalando: the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Partnership Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great city where to work and live. The company is innovative, dynamic, international and promotes collaboration and sharing. You can learn a lot, get to know new and skilled people coming from different countries. Great working environment.

    Cons

    It's only in Berlin :(

    Zalando2019-11-22
  8. "Refreshingly No-Nonsense hiring process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Lead in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Consistent dialog for progress updates - Excellent management of remote international interview - Very professional and engaging interviewers

    Cons

    - Expenses for the international trip was expensive

    Zalando2019-11-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Managers boss over you- HR is not functional-Worst politics & corruption"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    40 percent discount for employees on their website

    Cons

    -Managers treat you like slaves -No matter what you have to follow their orders -Forget any kind of support from the non-functional HR team -Overall Chaotic setup of teams for personal gains -Rewards and recognition process- unfair & not transparent

    Advice to Management

    Learn to listen to your team members Take initiatives and take bold decisions Think long term sustainable solutions to problems and not for quick wins

    Zalando2019-12-04
  10. "many group benefits, fast moving Zalando, slow moving Lounge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Merchandise Planner in Berlin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Zalando Lounge is a separate world - divided and very different from the rest of the Zalando SE cosmos. Things go slower in here, the whole institution is smaller, more informal and cosier.

    Cons

    As Zalando is crazy about innovation and always fast forward, you could expect Lounge to be the same, but it is not. This can also be frustrating, depending on one's expectations to the work environment.

    Zalando2019-11-18
Found 692 reviews