Fractal Reviews

Updated Oct 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 968 of over 1,020 reviews

4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Fractal CEO Srikanth Velamakanni
Srikanth Velamakanni
708 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work culture & ethics(in 101 reviews)

  • "Company has a Work Life Balance(in 77 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Middle management can be improved(in 76 reviews)

  • "Work Life Balance is sometimes hampered(in 33 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Dec 17, 2013 - Analytics Lead in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team-oriented, friendly environment, challenging roles. Top management is very much approachable.Flexible in changing roles and locations.Value you as an employee, and are concerned about your interests and career growth.

      Cons

      Comparatively lower compensation as per Singapore market standards.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good projects. Not the best paymaster

      Mar 12, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get the opportunity to work on interesting projects. Ideal for freshers

      Cons

      It's not the best paymaster

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It is on a Downhill Journey....

      Mar 13, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1 - People, People and People. Fractal manages to get good people and HAD good culture (which unfortunately is dying). CEO is trying to bring people centric policies but things are yet to mature 2 - CEO is passionate about the company and is trying very hard to keep a good culture going but I feel he is not adequately supported by middle and senior management 3 - HR is changing and it is for good (360 feedback mechanism and other initiatives)

      Cons

      1 - Hiring Policy: Externalizing the growth is biggest mistake Fractal has made over the last 2 years. It slows down the growth and learning opportunities of existing employees across levels (even the growth at Analyst and SA levels have slowed down). Also, it has made the Fractal Pyramid uneven (Span of control is inconsistent across levels) 2 - Sub par Compensation 3 - Lateral Managers: Many new managers that Fractal have brought in are not able to adjust quickly (they are one of the reasons of dying culture, politics and attrition). Image and perception (like all other big organizations) has become more important than getting actual work done 4 - Mentoring: Since the Fractal outlook has been to externalize the growth, there has been very less focus on grooming and mentoring existing talent pool. Also, trainings if provided are inadequate and not very effective. Managers (who should be the one to coach) are so busy in managing their image and in fire-fighting that they do not see this as important task to spend their time on. This resulted in creating a weak next in line managers 5 - Quality of Work & Staffing: Fractal primarily does reporting work with some good analytics project. You have to blessed to be able to work on such projects. And poor staffing decisions have many time messed up such good projects which almost never came back 6 - High Negativity and Attrition: All the above factors have made the work environment very negative where people just finding nooks in what others are doing and the crab mentality has sunk in. All these dissatisfaction at work place has resulted in unprecedented attritions rates and it needed drastic (like people policy) steps to halt them temporarily (appraisal cycle should revive the flow). Also, Fractal has unable to realize who the key people are and they have not been able to retain them. This will hurt in the long term

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Fractal Response

      CEO

      Very sorry to hear that you feel this way after spending more than 3 years at Fractal. (a) Our growth has been rapid and hence it was necessary to bring people from outside. Yes, many of the lateral hires come from cultures that are not exactly like the company we are trying to build. That's the reason we have made the hiring process so stringent (one "no" means "no" overall) (b) Compensation - Well, at a company level, our compensation costs are more than 50% of our revenues, indicating that our compensations are in line with our pricing. However, this doesn't guarantee any individual's pay being equitable. Also, this doesn't guarantee that the compensation is adequate by market standards. Those benchmarks that we have suggest we are certainly above median in our compensation. Lastly, we are able to attract people from the outside within our compensation parameters, indicating that our compensation may not be sub par at the aggregate level. There could still be issues and you may be perfectly right. (c) Mentoring - Both mentors and mentees would need to make more efforts for this to work. I do agree with you that we need to work on this at Fractal. I would be very happy to discuss in more detail if we can meet in person. Srikanth

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Favoritism rules!

      Dec 18, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good brand name in analytics space in India. The CEO. Good for entry level employees

      Cons

      Top management lacks Srikanth's (the CEO) passion. Lateral recruits given step-motherly treatment. Low growth opportunity given for people who started their career in Fractal.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Oct 26, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything is good about this company.

      Cons

      Nothing. Company gives you what you deserve.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Oct 25, 2021 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great folks to work with Great senior management

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Oct 26, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Life Balance Learning Different domains to explore

      Cons

      I did not find ay cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      nice

      Oct 22, 2021 - Researcher in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work from home, good pay, chill life

      Cons

      stressful, bad management, long working hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Engineer

      Oct 22, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything is perfect in this company

      Cons

      Nothing cons is there in this company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Data engineer

      Oct 19, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working hours. Good pay scale

      Cons

      Not any as of more

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 968 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Fractal Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Fractal? Share Your Experiences

    Fractal logo
    or