Fractal Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 899 of over 941 reviews

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Fractal CEO Srikanth Velamakanni
Srikanth Velamakanni
663 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work culture & ethics(in 101 reviews)

  • "Company has a Work Life Balance(in 77 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Middle management can be improved(in 76 reviews)

  • "Work Life Balance is sometimes hampered(in 33 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Dec 17, 2013 - Analytics Lead in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team-oriented, friendly environment, challenging roles. Top management is very much approachable.Flexible in changing roles and locations.Value you as an employee, and are concerned about your interests and career growth.

      Cons

      Comparatively lower compensation as per Singapore market standards.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good projects. Not the best paymaster

      Mar 12, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get the opportunity to work on interesting projects. Ideal for freshers

      Cons

      It's not the best paymaster

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It is on a Downhill Journey....

      Mar 13, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1 - People, People and People. Fractal manages to get good people and HAD good culture (which unfortunately is dying). CEO is trying to bring people centric policies but things are yet to mature 2 - CEO is passionate about the company and is trying very hard to keep a good culture going but I feel he is not adequately supported by middle and senior management 3 - HR is changing and it is for good (360 feedback mechanism and other initiatives)

      Cons

      1 - Hiring Policy: Externalizing the growth is biggest mistake Fractal has made over the last 2 years. It slows down the growth and learning opportunities of existing employees across levels (even the growth at Analyst and SA levels have slowed down). Also, it has made the Fractal Pyramid uneven (Span of control is inconsistent across levels) 2 - Sub par Compensation 3 - Lateral Managers: Many new managers that Fractal have brought in are not able to adjust quickly (they are one of the reasons of dying culture, politics and attrition). Image and perception (like all other big organizations) has become more important than getting actual work done 4 - Mentoring: Since the Fractal outlook has been to externalize the growth, there has been very less focus on grooming and mentoring existing talent pool. Also, trainings if provided are inadequate and not very effective. Managers (who should be the one to coach) are so busy in managing their image and in fire-fighting that they do not see this as important task to spend their time on. This resulted in creating a weak next in line managers 5 - Quality of Work & Staffing: Fractal primarily does reporting work with some good analytics project. You have to blessed to be able to work on such projects. And poor staffing decisions have many time messed up such good projects which almost never came back 6 - High Negativity and Attrition: All the above factors have made the work environment very negative where people just finding nooks in what others are doing and the crab mentality has sunk in. All these dissatisfaction at work place has resulted in unprecedented attritions rates and it needed drastic (like people policy) steps to halt them temporarily (appraisal cycle should revive the flow). Also, Fractal has unable to realize who the key people are and they have not been able to retain them. This will hurt in the long term

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Fractal Response

      CEO

      Very sorry to hear that you feel this way after spending more than 3 years at Fractal. (a) Our growth has been rapid and hence it was necessary to bring people from outside. Yes, many of the lateral hires come from cultures that are not exactly like the company we are trying to build. That's the reason we have made the hiring process so stringent (one "no" means "no" overall) (b) Compensation - Well, at a company level, our compensation costs are more than 50% of our revenues, indicating that our compensations are in line with our pricing. However, this doesn't guarantee any individual's pay being equitable. Also, this doesn't guarantee that the compensation is adequate by market standards. Those benchmarks that we have suggest we are certainly above median in our compensation. Lastly, we are able to attract people from the outside within our compensation parameters, indicating that our compensation may not be sub par at the aggregate level. There could still be issues and you may be perfectly right. (c) Mentoring - Both mentors and mentees would need to make more efforts for this to work. I do agree with you that we need to work on this at Fractal. I would be very happy to discuss in more detail if we can meet in person. Srikanth

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Favoritism rules!

      Dec 18, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good brand name in analytics space in India. The CEO. Good for entry level employees

      Cons

      Top management lacks Srikanth's (the CEO) passion. Lateral recruits given step-motherly treatment. Low growth opportunity given for people who started their career in Fractal.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great workplace that truly values their employees

      Jun 25, 2021 - Consultant in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1- Cool data-related projects to work on 2- Humanistic management who respect work boundaries and provide adequate freedom to work on one's own 3- Excellent place to begin and build a career 4- Candor is respected 5- Human Capital try to champion employee wellness 6- A high chance of gaining international communication experience in projects 7- Three or four developed analytics service verticals to work in the company like Fast Moving Consumer Goods, Healthcare and Life Sciences, Finance, etc, as well as some cool analytics product teams 8- The vision and ethics of central leadership as well as the values they live is admirable and inspiring 9- Company promotes and incentivizes learning and upgrading certifications

      Cons

      1- Project searching, especially across the firm, can be tricky 2- There are few projects in core data analysis per se, but many opportunities in data preprocessing, pipe-lining and visualization projects 3- Can be difficult to get noticed for positive contributions

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to work but problem with middle management

      Jun 21, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Freedom to work and implement ideas 2) Good for someone who is technically very sound 3) Very open culture. You can reach out to anyone and ask a question 4) If your work is not getting hampered no one asks question on leave or WFH

      Cons

      1) Freedom to choose your project (one of the important point of Fractal's culture), is only true if you work with a easy going client. But if you are stuck with a difficult/unreasonable client client you would stuck for life. 2) If you don't ask for a promotion, you are not even considered - no defined criteria of eligibility

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company making great strides in data science, solution design, and engineering

      Jul 16, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great leadership - they care about their employees, it shows in their weekly town hall meetings Learning paths - great opportunities to get certifications and trainings Exposure to emerging technologies and trends Lots of opportunity progress and succeed

      Cons

      I'm to blame as well, but the offer came out to be much lower than what the recruiter initially told me. When I tried to negotiate he said it would be difficult and time consuming to change, so I accepted but stayed open to new offers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Horrible Work and Work Culture

      Jun 27, 2021 - Advanced Analytics Consultant in Gurgaon, Haryana, Haryana
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing good about this company. Even the benefits which they provide (For Marketing Reasons) cannot be guaranteed.

      Cons

      Fractal boasts itself as Best Place to work, don't be fooled by it. They provide "free food" but won't give you time to even eat. You will have to give justification that you need 20 and not 15 min to finish your lunch. MicroManagement. You would have to fight for time given for work and justify why you need that much time to complete work. "Flexible Working Hours : "Your manager will call you at night, early morning, on weekends for work. EMs here include weekends also in project timelines. Fractal is the most horrible company I have worked for. There is no professionalism in this company. They may say "Choose your own boss", but it is nearly impossible to get release from current project. And in other projects also work is horrible. MS Excel and PowerPoint work. Manual data cleaning work. "Do not track leaves" it is nearly impossible to get leaves, because company doesn't allocate you official leaves. And you cannot even encash leaves not taken by you. Problem is service based model, they want client to to pay your salary. Employees are not on Company Payroll. The only focus of company is on your billing. They will even tag you in multiple projects and you will be working 16 hours a day and on weekends too.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      The Imagineer Experience

      Jul 28, 2021 - Imagineer in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helpful people, free food, unlimited leaves

      Cons

      Some clients can be extremely demanding and can impact the work life balance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fractal Products - A Farce

      Apr 27, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Flexibility, Good Salary, Talented Employees, Values

      Cons

      -Poor Leadership, Bad Product CEOs, Too bureaucratic, Full-of-themselves leaders

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      Fractal Response

      Thanks for the candid feedback. I believe this is for me (Ph.D. from Europe). Every feedback is important and every person is important for the growth of the organization. However, as a leader, you often need to provide straight and candid feedback to your colleagues, irrespective of their ranks and positions. The intent is never to hurt/insult someone personally but to help them identify scopes for improvements. If any of my comments might have hurt you personally, I am sorry for that. If you still liked your work and your talented colleagues (they are still here :-)), I would urge you to please reapply for the different open positions at Eugenie.ai. Regards, Soudip

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 899 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Fractal Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Fractal? Share Your Experiences

    Fractal logo
    or