Shell Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Shell CEO Ben van Beurden
Ben van Beurden
1,634 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons associated with Shell(in 74 reviews)

  • "Difficult customers low pay long hours(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Culture + Impact + Learning"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    culture is forgiving, very open, everyone is willing to help, conversations with bosses are transparent, accountability is given early

    Cons

    more industry-specific than Shell-specific: big question mark as to the future of the energy industry. unlikely it will die or go bankrupt, but facing disruption left and right, and growth is not like it was before

    Shell2020-05-14
  2. "Review of oil compsny"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Director in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Nothing to say no cons

    Shell2020-06-01
  3. "work life balance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good culture, also potliticl at same time

    Cons

    poor coaching, no mentor, look after yourself

    Shell2020-05-11
  4. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Management 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Big brand name

    Cons

    Not competitive against industry standard

    Shell2020-03-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits but bonus peg to overall companyP&L instead of team P&L. Provide stability but low growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, company that cares about safety

    Cons

    Mundane, bureacratic, growth dependent on network rather than competency

    Shell2020-03-06
  6. "Interview was great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Perks, Job stability, Brand name, Good Location

    Cons

    Stressful, Long Hours, Hierarchical, Slow progression, Expensive food around the area

    Continue reading
    Shell2020-03-01
  7. "Good company and worth working for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Attractive salary package and career development

    Cons

    Organization is a little bit complicated

    Continue reading
    Shell2020-02-27
  8. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Business Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great projects, large complex opportunities, white canvas to shape large impact

    Cons

    Slow decision making, too much restructuring, constant churn (internally within company moving to different roles)

    Shell2020-02-12
  9. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunities Wide range of jobs Not hierarchical Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Decisions are slow Complex processes Minimum difference in performance ranking and salary for high and low performers

    Shell2020-02-04
  10. "Engineer"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Consulting Hardware Engineer 

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Good work culture, smart people

    Cons

    Long hours, bad location

    Shell2020-01-28
Found 4410 reviews