Uber Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Uber Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
1,336 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes the app doesn't take me to the right location to pick up the riders(in 376 reviews)

  • "Wear and tear on POV gets expensive(in 328 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Telemarketer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telemarketer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uber part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good and hyped environment, friendly

    Cons

    office hours, high expectation to meet

    Uber2019-10-16
  2. "Fast paced, lots of learning and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Operations Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of growth opportunity (both career and personal) - Autonomy (you get to drive a lot of decisions, execution and planning)

    Cons

    - Always be hustling: there's a lot to do and never enough resources. team is young and new

    Uber2019-11-10
  3. "Revolutionary product but a bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Professional in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, Flexible hours and a Great office

    Cons

    No stability in management - new people come in and change things and fire entire departments No clarity on career progression

    Advice to Management

    The Brand and benefits to employees will only get you so far. Focus on stability and nurturing your people

    Uber2019-11-07
  4. "Smart Folks, Minimal Drama and the Best HR Experience ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generally a smart bunch of co-workers & managers. You get the sense that people generally want to do their work well and are objective-driven hence not much drama - which is perfect for me. Managers generally do not micro-manage (which is great!) but like any tech companies, if you gotta do the work and meet deadlines, you gotta do it, be it on your paid time off or not. Great welfare. Free breakfast and... lunch and heaps of fancy drinks and snacks. Non-negotiable compensation policy -> double-edged sword but works well for me. HR experience was stellar. The recruiter was prompt in relaying the interview results (usually within the same day) and what was absolutely helpful was when she brought up both the 'what i have done well' and 'what could have been better' so that I could work on the 'what could have been better' for my next round of interview. Appreciate that greatly.

    Show More

    Cons

    No consolidated channel for internal tools, comms, knowledge of all fields, request access so you need to slowly figure out where to get what, which channel reflects the most up-to-date info and who to talk to. Heaps of time wasted on trial and error due to the lack of clear documentation (if there's any for some) Worrying roles that seemingly overlap. You'll like it here if you are an independent worker who... requires minimal guidance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While I am happy to be working for Uber, I do acknowledge that most of my frustrations stem from not knowing where and how to get whatever I need, be it tools, info, access, current processes and that takes up a huge chunk of my time. As the company grows, it will be absolutely critical to focus on a more effective approach or channel for employees to both upload and download resources across functions and... regions.

    Show More
    Uber2019-10-01
  5. "3 months in and lovin' it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A genuine focus on inclusion and diversity with a real bias towards action. A fast-paced environment that ensures every day is totally different.

    Cons

    Some policies need to be reviewed and revised - trust your staff to do the right thing.

    Advice to Management

    Empower new managers/leaders to drive positive culture and focus on inclusion as an opportunity, both from a people perspective and from a commercial one!

    Uber2019-10-01
  6. "It’s better than you think!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Daily breakfast & lunch provided New office space Regional exposure Performance driven culture Attractive RSU Many training options and opportunities Regular & open communications. Weekly global all hands with live questions answered by CEO & team.

    Cons

    Re-organization in Uber is common. Nothing is permanent here. Job security seems not very high. Contractual staff are treated very differently in Uber. They have no access to many information and will usually not be invited for events.

    Uber2019-08-19
  7. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Uber full-time

    Pros

    Awesome culture, colleagues, and workplace

    Cons

    NA, generally all nice to me

    Uber2019-08-04
  8. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Uber part-time

    Pros

    Good staff benefits and welfare

    Cons

    Messy, unstructured, no concern for operational staff

    Uber2019-07-11
  9. "Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time

    Pros

    Company treats employees well

    Cons

    Unstructured environment and poor career progression

    Uber2019-05-09
  10. "Performance Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time

    Pros

    The company cares for your personal well being a lot more than you would care for yourself. Fast moving company with daily challenges. Keeps you thinking and moving.

    Cons

    As the company grows bigger, more administrative procedures to be done in order to make changes.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the good work on ensuring inclusion of everyone in the workplace.

    Uber2019-04-08
Found 3918 reviews
</>Embed