Zillow Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,133 of over 1,223 reviews

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
258 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have a great work-life balance(in 124 reviews)

  • "Great company with great benefits(in 73 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "none / work-life balance is great and the stock is great too(in 20 reviews)

  • "Then upper management says asks why security hasn't solved for X problem(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Pretty good tech company

      Jan 21, 2021 - Senior Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours and work life balance

      Cons

      Large org, so promotion opportunities are slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      As great as our benefits are, we believe that having opportunities to grow your career is the most important aspect of a job. It's unfortunate that you didn't experience this with us. Zillow is growing fast and big enough for everyone, with more room to grow. -VP, Recruiting

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome Internship

      Sep 20, 2021 - Software Development Engineer Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + Worklife Balance + Allows remote work + Great pay & compensation for internship

      Cons

      I have none for the internship.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place

      Sep 18, 2021 - Realtor in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and management team.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Sep 16, 2021 - Customer Service in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great benefits and lots of vacation time

      Cons

      None, I have loved working fit Zillow for 5 years

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      analyst

      Sep 10, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great people and super kind

      Cons

      nothing really much. all is good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The best of all worlds

      Sep 9, 2021 - Senior Applied Scientist in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Zillow to me is the perfect combination of the advantages of working for a tech company, including top notch technology, smart people, challenging problems, agile culture, best in class benefits, immense impact, and great pay without the disadvantages of the over hyped FAANG. At Zillow work life balance is amazing, people are actually upbeat and happy, time off is encouraged, working long hours is discouraged, and best of all, we're now Cloud HQ, which means I can work remotely from wherever I want in the US instead of spending hours in crazy commutes.

      Cons

      The vision benefit could be better. The network is small and the annual contact lens benefit could be better.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Sep 6, 2021 - Sales Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and community, communication from top down is very transparent.

      Cons

      Tough quotas, not alot of mercy for personal problems.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to work overall

      Sep 6, 2021 - Accountant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Very inclusive place to work - New Management was receptive to feedback and genuinely cared about the team in the accounting department - PTO policy was good when staffing was complete enough to allow for time off.

      Cons

      - Some larger delays between a team member's departure and a new hire coming on left the remaining team feeling overworked. - Understaffing at times made it difficult to take/enjoy PTO

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Meets Great Place to Work expectations

      Aug 12, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Competitive pay, excellent benefits (no cap for SDEs on PTO, health coverage, signing bonus + annual "merit" increase raise) 2. Great culture. I would say people in engineering (or around it) are generally nice and/or helpful and motivated. You know you're working with smart people but you'll still almost always able to find someone who's willing to help, or something to get involved in to network with or meet nice people with common interests. Stuff like getting involved in affinity networks feels encouraged, although sometimes there's a struggle to balance time and work like anything. 3. Excellent work/life balance. This depends on your team and manager, but executive leadership encourages it and in all my time at the company, this has generally been met. I feel able to take advantage of this and sign off when I need to. Generally my coworkers will respect that. 4. Almost every time a major event occurs, ZG will address it from leadership. Whether it's the "Racism has no home here" callouts and actions in response to BLM protests, natural disasters occurring in the states, or handling the pandemic with an early full-time WFH response, it feels good to work at a company where leadership seems to push for true transparency, instead of sweeping major political issues under the rug or treating employees like disposable workers. Leadership is aware and acknowledges the importance of personal lives outside of work which was HUGE during the pandemic. I'm not a parent, but there was a struggle across the company with the work/life balance - which we know because they took polls and showed results at meetings. It felt acknowledged and that even when the company isn't solving something, they're actively working on things where employees are taken care of. It took a long time to finalize when we'd be back in the office and what that meant, but the decision to move full-time remote for most workers felt like it took employee feedback into account. They care about retention and consistently get culture awards and I think those things are true.

      Cons

      Depending on what team you're on (like any company), you might get a bad manager and/or team that doesn't fit you. This heavily impacts how your team does things because although there's a bigger push to standardize things, there's a lot of fragmentation on how to do things - whether it's process or implementation. That comes with pros and cons, especially as the company continues to grow. I've had both bad and good experiences with teams, although I felt mostly supported when it came to moving teams. Some legacy work, though again it depends on your team. Some teams are working on all cool, brand new stuff. Some are stuck in legacy work that's no fun. More work still needs to be done across equity and diversity at the company. It feels like the company is a few steps along in this area - gathering data, discussing importance and establishing it in core values for culture, having paid positions in leadership to address equity and belonging, etc. But there's still so much work to be done across gender, race, LGBTQ+ and other underrepresented groups. It's talked about and "valued" but despite the awards we've gotten for diversity, it feels like a low bar. Like we've hired some people (more than the tiny average at other companies), but how much has been done beyond that and talking? For instance, how much is career leveling and guides catered towards a certain demographic? I've been through a lot of reorgs. Not that people are getting fired, but so much is changing in the company over the years. I'm curious to see how full-time remote and all this hiring impacts our overall culture.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am replying here so that you know I have read it, and your opinion has been heard. Please reach out to me any time if you would like to dive into any of these topics further. David Beitel, CTO

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Exhausted

      Sep 16, 2021 - Escrow Assistant in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, stock options, great opportunities to be in different peer groups for support

      Cons

      Working 12+ hours a day and still not enough time to keep up with all job tasks. Customers, outside real estate agents and lenders disappointed with level of professionalism. Management would rather point fingers at escrow staff instead of helping, we are supposed to be "better together " which is a company core value. No work life balance within our team.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,133 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zillow Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zillow? Share Your Experiences

    Zillow logo
    or