Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews

Updated 13 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4655 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
953 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is hard to maintain(in 202 reviews)

  • "Burns through people by chasing awful work to maintain company revenue after going public(in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (441)

    "Great people, terrible business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great. Everyone -- even the difficult types -- are eager to work and excel. There are some senior officers with questionable morality, but most people here are great people to work with.

    Cons

    1. Federal clients. Don't forget that you'll move at their pace, not yours. 2. The nature of the job means that sooner or later you'll be strategizing ways to get more money from the client (i.e. federal government), regardless of whether or not you'll actually add value. BAH runs on government money, a large chunk from DoD, and thus is part of the bigger problem we have in this country with fiscal responsibility.... 3. Living off the American taxpayer. Much of the money that flies around in DC is at the expense of everyone else everywhere else in the US, BAH is a major player in this system, particularly the defense technology sector. 4. You'll never get paid what you're worth. The three lowest ranks (Consultant, Sr. Consultant, Associate) seldom make what they're worth, while senior management (looking at you, officers) make insane amounts of money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm leaving this job for two reasons, despite being hand-picked and groomed for greater responsibility by senior management. 1. You weren't paying me enough to do the job; especially when you factor in the amount of stress this job puts on a human being, the amount of time I sacrificed with my family, the amount of guilt this job inspired in me as an American. 2. The job is not meaningful to anyone who doesn't... lust for profits. At some point each of us gets a look at how the sausage is made, and then it becomes clear that the government is basically asking (literally sending out solicitations and announcements) to be ripped off. They don't need what we're selling, but they buy it anyways because Congress tells them to. This buys Congress fancy retirement plans at the same businesses that profit. But everyone else loses, and Booz Allen isn't doing enough to be a part of our nation's long-term fiscal stability.

    Show More
    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-09-15
  2. "Best Firm to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Booz Allen invests in your future. I've been working in the firm for less than a year, and I have had the greatest training opportunities. They offer great committees that you can join and lead, like health and wellness and diversity & inclusion. My job lead supports my career growth and makes me feel valued. I love this firm!

    Cons

    Fast paced sometimes, but you are challenged. You get promoted based on your performance, so if you overcome these challenges, you get quicker raises and promotions!

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-13
  3. "Great people, flexible work schedule, excellent trainings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start a career.

    Cons

    Pay could be much more competitive, especially given firm ranking.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-13
  4. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer 

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    Individual projects are exciting. Working with close knit teams is great.

    Cons

    Onboarding is clunky and not straightforward

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-13
  5. "Best for people who like DoD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most people I have met here are kind, smart and genuinely willing to help you. BAH encourages people/SMEs to reach out to people outside of your team if you have questions regarding something that's not within your wheelhouse and people will readily help you. Decent work/life balance especially for consultancies, and federal holidays (huge plus) Good benefits outside of compensation, although sick days are... rolled into your PTO

    Show More

    Cons

    Working for organizations that aim to "increase lethality" in their domain can truly wear on you. If this sort of thing even remotely bothers you, or as one other reviewer pointed out, you're frustrated by lack of fiscal responsibility and don't like to take from the American taxpayer, this company isn't for you. It's mostly federal and a large percentage of those are within DoD. The company also does not... compensate fairly, even if compared to salaries outside of the consulting industry. They use the excuse of "well we have better work/life balance than other consultancies" but that doesn't account for general market value outside of the consulting world. People are nice and are willing to help, but the nature of cleared work makes it so you really can't exchange ideas and collaborate with other people who are not on the same contract. Can be pro if you don't like very collaborative environments. Employee experience varies greatly depending on your administrative team and your project. My admin team is aloof and not very warm which is likely due to being overworked. Other teams are more friendly and are not overworked. Some associates on our team are split between three or more products. Makes you feel like you're being juiced for all you got. Nobody warns you how long the clearance process may take. Many people have taken more than a year to get theirs, which makes it hard to get on a project. If you're not on a project after a prolonged period of time, you can get a Lack of Work notice and eventually let go (not that I've seen that happen, but it's important to note it can be nerve wracking). Pretty traditional culture, but that depends on the account. Defense account is pretty much how you'd imagine it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have more transparency around certain processes (i.e., clearance, how you get placed on a project). Encourage more collaboration and cross-pollination, when possible. Encourage a more tech- savvy/modern and less risk averse culture. Remind people of the mission and the good things that BAH is doing. We're so focused on our clients, it's hard to feel like you're a part of a cohesive unit/brand (I've heard several... "cog in the machine" comments).

    Show More
    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-10
  6. "Nice Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    People are nice and smart

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Empowering Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Scientist in Belcamp, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I've worked with so far at Booz Allen are very kind, friendly people. My superiors are inspiring, and always encourage me to do more. I've felt very empowered by this company and they've entrusted me with a lot of responsibility very early on in my career. I'm proud to say I work for them. Great Work/Life Balance. They allow to work the 9 hour day schedule so that I can take every other Friday off. I'm... able to work from home whenever I want (unless I have a meeting or something I need to attend).

    Show More

    Cons

    Lower Salary in my area. Job is sometimes stressful, but that's the nature of contracting work.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Firm to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company puts their mission into practice, their core values are evident in their work and employees. Opportunity for advancement is great.

    Cons

    After numerous attempts to attend conferences that would help my career via certifications, I have been denied two years in a row despite my client supporting it.

    Advice to Management

    Increase access to conferences and events

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-06
  9. "Great place to learn and grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are passionate about the work they do.

    Cons

    Affordable housing was difficult to find if you don't already live in the NOVA area.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-08
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of training, very flexible hours

    Cons

    A lot of networking required

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-05
Found 4655 reviews