Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews

Updated 25 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton President and CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
1,011 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is hard to maintain(in 206 reviews)

  • "Burns through people by chasing awful work to maintain company revenue after going public(in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to have an internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Internship in Singapore

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment A diverse group of people who are willing to share

    Cons

    Could have more projects which would make the experience better

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-12-31
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Slight discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent compensation with strong team culture.

    Cons

    Not easy to rise if you do not get connected to certain influential managers.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-17
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton

    Pros

    Collaborative diverse environment, exceting challenges everyday

    Cons

    Traveling is extremely frequent, so are late night calls

    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-01-21
  4. Helpful (481)

    "Great people, terrible business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great. Everyone -- even the difficult types -- are eager to work and excel. There are some senior officers with questionable morality, but most people here are great people to work with.

    Cons

    1. Federal clients. Don't forget that you'll move at their pace, not yours. 2. The nature of the job means that sooner or later you'll be strategizing ways to get more money from the client (i.e. federal government), regardless of whether or not you'll actually add value. BAH runs on government money, a large chunk from DoD, and thus is part of the bigger problem we have in this country with fiscal responsibility. 3. Living off the American taxpayer. Much of the money that flies around in DC is at the expense of everyone else everywhere else in the US, BAH is a major player in this system, particularly the defense technology sector. 4. You'll never get paid what you're worth. The three lowest ranks (Consultant, Sr. Consultant, Associate) seldom make what they're worth, while senior management (looking at you, officers) make insane amounts of money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm leaving this job for two reasons, despite being hand-picked and groomed for greater responsibility by senior management. 1. You weren't paying me enough to do the job; especially when you factor in the amount of stress this job puts on a human being, the amount of time I sacrificed with my family, the amount of guilt this job inspired in me as an American. 2. The job is not meaningful to anyone who doesn't lust for profits. At some point each of us gets a look at how the sausage is made, and then it becomes clear that the government is basically asking (literally sending out solicitations and announcements) to be ripped off. They don't need what we're selling, but they buy it anyways because Congress tells them to. This buys Congress fancy retirement plans at the same businesses that profit. But everyone else loses, and Booz Allen isn't doing enough to be a part of our nation's long-term fiscal stability.

    Show More
    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-09-15
  5. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Senior Staff in Beaufort, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    smart coworkers who are also very collaborative and helpful. Pretty sweet benefits and generally a good culture

    Cons

    some contracts don't seem to add a lot of value inherently

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-26
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work life balance, flexibility, collaboration

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees and respect their feedback

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-23
  7. "Enjoyed my time with Booz Allen!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Compartmentalized leadership structure - supportive leadership - Interesting work - Driven and well capable colleagues

    Cons

    - Potential for billability/contract insecurity - Stories revolving around poor management/grudges

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-21
  8. "Stability, camaraderie, fair pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really enjoy the people and the culture of looking out for each other. Pay is great for the area and we are supported in personal and professional development endeavors.

    Cons

    Project teams can often get overstaffed, resulting in lack of meaningful work. Promotions and awards are few and far between.

    Advice to Management

    Senior management is out of touch with their employees. It’s rare to see them.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-18
  9. "it's good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Booz is great. Great place to work.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better. Specifically Medical.

    Advice to Management

    work here!

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-15
  10. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Technologist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic teams. The support from leadership and motivation to succeed is astounding. I have been well taken care of working at this company and have had the best managers out of any job I've had in the past 10 years.

    Cons

    Government contracts are prone to contract loss, so job security may not be as stable as it seems.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2020-01-15
Found 4775 reviews