IBM Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

IBM Reviews

Updated 24 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49630 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
18346 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    Interested in cloud computing technology.

    Cons

    They need students with experience.

    IBM2019-08-24
  2. "Great place to intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Informatica Developer 

    I have been working at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance and awesome culture

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    IBM2019-08-23
  3. "It’s getting much better but has some work to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IBM in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Some of the brightest minds I have ever worked with, and some great people with incredible stories! Products are finally being leaned down to match the strengths of IBM; I think the company was trying too hard to capture every market, industry & product offering in the past years - ultimately leading to underperforming and silo’d lines of business, glad it’s getting better. The culture is heading in the right direction...

    Show More

    Cons

    “Smile” - even if you need to force it Ridiculed for being ambitious and wanting to put the client first, a lot of focus is put on doing the right thing for the business rather than the client, it should be balanced. Sales teams only care about “what we get paid on” - which is an appalling attitude and business strategy; a salesperson should be there to grow IBMs portfolio and business, this also led to poor integration...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cull the middle management; they’re largely unproductive and come at a large cost, invest it back into frontline employees. Put the client first, or at least try to.

    IBM2019-08-24
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Flexbile n good to work

    Cons

    Less package and low personal growth

    IBM2019-08-24
  5. Helpful (16)

    "All About the Money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Use to be a great company which supported and invested in their employees and clients. Work balance and autonomy was fantastic if you achieved.

    Cons

    Ageism is rife. Retrenching majority of “older” people for many years who are on six figures. Replacing with young cheap labour. All about the bottom line for CEO and shareholders.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of CEO - has lost focus - people are very important to the success of a company.

    IBM2019-07-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Automation Specialist in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance Work from home No check on no. Of hours in office Gives preference on work location

    Cons

    Low salary hike Might have to work at client location

    Advice to Management

    Get more projects with good technology

    IBM2019-08-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Cloud Application Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's a great school to learn the business, improve your quality.

    Cons

    The processes might take too long due to procedures and bureaucracy

    IBM2019-08-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Ibm salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Offering Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits for healthcare, travel and family leave

    Cons

    Too large and often difficult for growth

    IBM2019-08-21
  9. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Stack Developer in Research Triangle Park, NC

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, everyone is very friendly and open-minded. Commuted to developing their employees as professionals and open to trying new technologies.

    Cons

    IBM is a large company and sometimes there can be a lot of overhead 'fluff' that comes with it. Ex. Required training, etc.

    IBM2019-08-22
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AV Technician in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at IBM for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management cares about the workers.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement.

    IBM2019-08-22
Found 49630 reviews